Clarke Names Scotland Squad For Final UEFA Euro 2024 Qualifiers

(Image credit: Herald Scotland)

Scotland manager, Steve Clarke has named a 23-man squad for their final UEFA Euro 2024 qualifiers against Georgia and Norway.

Aaron Hickey, Andrew Robertson and John Souttar are ruled out in defence with respective hamstring, shoulder and muscle injuries.

The trio’s absence has meant that Hellas Verona defender, Josh Doig has earned another call-up despite having made no senior international appearances in his previous call-ups, whilst Anthony Ralston has been recalled to bolster defensive options.

In goal, Angus Gunn has dropped out due to injury which has earned Robby McCrorie a recall to the squad alongside the retained pair of Zander Clark and Liam Kelly.

Manager, Clarke has made no tweaks to his midfield selection with Scott McTominay and John McGinn amongst those to retain their places in the squad.

Up front, Kevin Nisbet has been omitted after he missed last month’s action with a hamstring injury with no replacement called up, as Che Adams, Jacob Brown, Ryan Christie and Lyndon Dykes all retained in attack.

Scotland will face Georgia away in Tbilisi on Thursday 16 November at 5pm UK Time in their final away qualifier in UEFA Euro 2024 Qualifying, before wrapping up the whole campaign at home to Norway on Sunday 19 November in a 7:45pm GMT kick-off.

Victory in both matches coupled with a slip-up for Spain in their final two group matches would see Scotland top their Qualifying group.

Goalkeeper: Zander Clark (Hearts), Liam Kelly (Motherwell), Robby McCrorie (Rangers)

Defence: Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Josh Doig (Hellas Verona), Jack Hendry (Al-Ettifaq), Scott McKenna (Nottingham Forest), Nathan Patterson (Everton), Ryan Porteous (Watford), Anthony Ralston (Celtic), Greg Taylor (Celtic)

Midfield: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Lewis Ferguson (Bologna), Billy Gilmour (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ryan Jack (Rangers), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), Scott McTominay (Manchester United)

Forward: Che Adams (Southampton), Jacob Brown (Luton Town), Ryan Christie (Bournemouth), Lyndon Dykes (QPR)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.