James Lawrence, George Thomas and Brennan Johnson Recalled In 27-Man Wales Squad

Caretaker manager, Rob Page has named a 27-man Wales squad for upcoming 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers in September 2021, with James Lawrence, George Thomas and Brennan Johnson all recalled.

Page has named an unchanged goalkeeper and forward selection with Wayne Hennessey and Gareth Bale amongst those to retain their places in the team, following a tough Euro 2020 exit to Denmark this summer at the Round of 16 stage.

There however are changes in defence as Swansea City duo of Conor Roberts and Ben Cabango both drop out although Roberts is sidelined with a groin injury suffered during their loss against the Danes, with St Pauli’s James Lawrence instead coming into the squad.

George Thomas returns to the Wales squad in midfield after failing to feature for the Welsh Dragons in over two seasons, yet has been recalled after impressing at QPR this month.

Brennan Johnson has also been recalled to midfield after being omitted from this summer’s Euros due to his inexperience at senior international level.

Wales kick off next month’s international window with an away friendly on 1 September against Finland, who they defeated 3-1 last November to seal promotion to UEFA Nations League A.

Page’s Welsh Dragons then resume their 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifying campaign in Group E against Belarus on 5 September (2:00pm BST), followed by a home tie against Estonia three days later on 8 September (7:45pm).

Here is the 27-man Wales squad in full below.

Goalkeepers: Wayne Hennessey (Burnley), Danny Ward (Leicester City), Adam Davies (Stoke City)

Defence: Chris Gunter (Charlton Athletic), Ben Davies (Tottenham Hotspur), Ethan Ampadu (Chelsea), Chris Mepham (Bournemouth), Joe Rodon (Tottenham Hotspur), Neco Williams (Liverpool), Tom Lockyer (Luton Town), James Lawrence (St Pauli), Rhys Norrington-Davies (Sheffield United)

Midfield: Aaron Ramsay (Juventus), Joe Allen (Stoke), Matthew Smith (Hull City, loan from Manchester City), Joe Morrell (Luton Town), Dylan Levitt (Manchester United), Jonny Williams (Cardiff), Harry Wilson (Liverpool), David Brooks (Bournemouth), George Thomas (QPR), Rubin Colwill (Cardiff), Brennan Johnson (Nottingham Forest)

Forward: Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Kieffer Moore (Cardiff), Tyler Roberts (Leeds United), Daniel James (Manchester United)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.