Steve Clarke Makes Four Squad Changes for 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers

Steve Clarke names a 26-man Scotland squad for next month’s 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers featuring four changes from their Euro 2020 squad. 

David Marshall and Jon McLaughlin drop out in goal as St Johnstone’s Zander Clark and Liam Kelly of Motherwell earns their first international call-ups.

There are no changes in defence as Liam Cooper and Scott McKenna are amongst those to retain there places, as John Fleck and Scott McTominay are dropped from this summer’s Euro 2020 squad with Kenny McLean receiving a recall whilst Lewis Ferguson is handed his first senior call-up to the Tartan Army.

Up front, Steve Clarke has named an unchanged selection of strikers, as Che Adams, Lyndon Dykes, Kevin Nisbet, James Forrest and Ryan Fraser retain their places.

Scotland continue their 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifying campaign in Group F as they visit leaders, Denmark on 1 September (7:45pm BST), before hosting Moldova at Hampden Park on 4 September (7:45pm BST), followed by a trip to Austria on 7 September (7:45pm) to conclude next month’s qualifying action.

Here is Scotland’s 26-man squad in full.

Goalkeeper: Zander Clark (St Johnstone), Craig Gordon (Hearts), Liam Kelly (Motherwell)

Defence: Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Declan Gallagher (Motherwell), Grant Hanley (Norwich), Jack Hendry (Oostende), Scott McKenna (Nottingham Forest), Stephen O’Donnell (Motherwell), Nathan Patterson (Rangers), Andrew Robertson (Liverpool), Greg Taylor (Celtic), Kieran Tierney (Arsenal)

Midfield: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Billy Gilmour (Chelsea), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), David Turnbull (Celtic), Ryan Christie (Celtic), Lewis Ferguson (Aberdeen)

Forward: Che Adams (Southampton), Lyndon Dykes (QPR), Kevin Nisbet (Hibernian), James Forrest (Celtic), Ryan Fraser (Newcastle United)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.