Ian Baraclough Names 25-Man Northern Ireland Squad for September 2021 Fixtures

Ian Baraclough has named a 25-man Northern Ireland squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers against Lithuania, Estonia and Switzerland in September 2021. 

Although eight players are set to return, vice-captain Jonny Evans is a major doubt as he continues to recover from a heel injury which has kept him out for Leicester in recent months.

In Baraclough’s goalkeeping selection, Liverpool’s Liam Hughes has dropped out to make way for the return of Trevor Carson, who returns following his switch from Motherwell to Dundee United this summer.

Michael Smith and Jamal Lewis return in defence replacing Sam McClelland who drops out, whilst Conor Bradley has been promoted into the midfield section of the squad.

Steven Davis returns in midfield after being snubbed for June’s international friendlies alongside Corry Evans as Manchester United’s Ethan Galbraith is omitted from the squad.

Josh Magennis and Dion Charles are the only forwards from June’s selection to retain their places as Liam Boyce chose to decline a call-up for family reasons, whilst Kyle Lafferty has been snubbed as Conor Washington and Shayne Lavery come into the squad.

Northern Ireland continue their 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifying campaign as they visit Lithuania on 2 September (7:45pm BST), before heading to Estonia three days later on 5 September (5:00pm) ahead of a home clash against Euro 2020 Quarter-Finalists, Switzerland on 8 September (7:45pm).

Here is Northern Ireland squad in full.

Goalkeepers: Bailey Peacock-Farrell (Sheffield Wednesday – loan from Burnley), Trevor Carson (Dundee United), Conor Hazard (Celtic)

Defence: Craig Cathcart (Watford), Stuart Dallas (Leeds United), Shane Ferguson (Rotherham United), Daniel Ballard (Millwall, loan from Arsenal), Jonny Evans (Leicester City)

Midfield: Niall McGinn (Aberdeen), George Saville (Millwall), Jordan Thompson (Stoke City), Ali McCann (St Johnstone), Gavin Whyte (Oxford United, loan), Paddy McNair (Middlesbrough), Jordan Jones (Wigan Athletic), Steven Davis (Rangers), Corry Evans (Sunderland), Conor Bradley (Liverpool)

Forward: Josh Magennis (Hull City), Conor Washington (Charlton Athletic), Shayne Lavery (Blackpool), Dion Charles (Accrington Stanley)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.