Full Lineup for F2 2020 Post-Season Test Confirmed

Formula Two have confirmed the finalised lineup for their three-day post-season test from 8-10 December 2020 in Bahrain.

Several drivers including Felipe Drugovich, Dan Ticktum plus Sunday’s Sakhir Sprint Race winner, Jehan Daruvala all return for this test as teams ring the changes, with various F3 drivers getting their first F2 call-ups, including Oscar Piastri who will get his first taste of PREMA machinery ahead of driving for the newly crowned constructor champions next season.

In total, eight teams will run just two drivers across the entire test with PREMA opting to field their confirmed 2021 lineup of Piastri and Shwartzman, whilst DAMS will hand chances to Roy Nissany and Marcus Armstrong who switch from Trident and ART GP respectively.

Nissany’s seat at Trident has been filled by Clement Novalak for the first two days with Bent Viscaal taking over on the final day as the Brit takes Guanyu Zhou’s seat at UNI-Virtuosi alongside their new 2021 signing, Felipe Drugovich.

Armstrong’s ART GP has been filled by Theo Pourchaire who finished the F3 season as Vice-Champion with the French outfit before racing for HWA Racelab in the final two F2 rounds, as he finds himself joined by Christian Lundgaard who finished seventh in this season’s championship.

Carlin who took victory in both Sakhir races will field Daruvala and Dan Ticktum who switches from DAMS, with Daruvala swapping his no.8 car for the no.7 Carlin which was driven by Yuki Tsunoda this season to three wins as Ticktum takes over the Indian’s usual car.

Campos have handed Logan Sargeant his first taste of F2 machinery in their no.10 car whilst confirmed signing, Ralph Boschung continues in the no.9 of which he drove in this weekend’s season finale after Jack Aitken was promoted to F1 with Williams as an emergency replacement for George Russell who switched to Mercedes.

2020 Vice-Champion, Callum Ilott will drive for Charouz on the first day alongside David Beckmann who will swap the no.12 car for Ilott’s no.11 car on days two and three, with Guilherme Samaia filling his seat in the other car after driving for Campos this season where he was the only regular driver to not score points.

MP Motorsport will field F3’s Lirim Zendeli alongside the experienced Louis Deletraz whilst HWA Racelab have gone for a similar lineup as the returning Roberto Merhi joins Matteo Nannini at the German team.

Marino Sato will continue to run in the other Trident car whilst Hitech GP have opted to given DAMS’ mid-season replacement, Juri Vips a chance to impress alongside Liam Lawson who finished fifth for the team in F3 this season.

Teams will test in three hour morning and afternoon sessions across the three days with two hour lunch breaks on the opening two days, whilst there will be a one hour break on the final day, with everyone running on hard tyres as provided by Pirelli of which each car will have eight sets for across the entire test.


Team Number Driver Days
DAMS 1 Roy Nissany 1-3
2 Marcus Armstrong 1-3
UNI-Virtuosi 3 Guanyu Zhou 1-2
Clement Novalak 3
4 Felipe Drugovich 1-3
ART GP 5 Theo Pourchaire 1-3
6 Christian Lundgaard 1-3
Carlin 7 Jehan Daruvala 1-3
8 Dan Ticktum 1-3
Campos 9 Ralph Boschung 1-3
10 Logan Sargeant 1-3
Charouz 11 Callum Ilott 1
David Beckmann 2-3
12 David Beckmann 1
Guilherme Samaia 2-3
MP Motorsport 14 Lirim Zendeli 1-3
15 Louis Deletraz 1-3
HWA Racelab 16 Roberto Merhi 1-3
17 Matteo Nannini 1-3
PREMA 20 Oscar Piastri 1-3
21 Robert Shwartzman 1-3
Trident 22 Clement Novalak 1-2
Bent Viscaal 3
23 Marino Sato 1-3
Hitech GP 24 Juri Vips 1-3
25 Liam Lawson 1-3

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.