Jehan Daruvala Wins 2020 Sakhir Sprint as Mick Schumacher Crowned 2020 F2 Champion

Jehan Daruvala claimed a stunning maiden F2 victory in a Carlin one-two finish as PREMA’s Mick Schumacher sealed the title in a dramatic Sakhir Sprint thriller.

Dan Ticktum led from pole ahead of Schumacher who climbed past Daruvala but a lock-up at Turn Four saw him concede position and forced to fend off title rival – Callum Ilott, only for further lock-ups to force him to pit at the end of lap 20.

Schumacher ultimately finished 18th but it was enough for the title as Ilott struggled to climb into the top two positions to give himself a shot at snatching the title, with the Brit’s tyres eventually fading as he slid to a 10th placed finish at the flag.

Tsunoda meanwhile launched a late charge to snatch second at the final corner from Ticktum who had been passed by Daruvala on lap 25 for victory.

Guanyu Zhou, Robert Shwartzman, Giuliano Alesi, Luca Ghiotto and Felipe Drugovich round out the top eight as Schumacher recovered to 18th, which was enough for him to be crowned champion after Ilott failed to finish in the top two.

Speaking on his title success, Schumacher said; “To be champion is

Schumacher takes the title from fellow Ferrari junior, Ilott by 14 points as the Brit edged out Tsunoda by one point to be 2020 Vice-Champion, whilst Shwartzman took fourth ahead of Nikita Mazepin who is joining Schumacher in F1 next season at Haas.

Embed from Getty Images

Ticktum got a clean start to lead from pole as Schumacher raced up to second only for a lock-up at Turn Four to cause him serious issues as Daruvala quickly repassed him for second, leaving Schumacher to fend off Ilott despite suffering further lock-ups on laps 17 and 18.

Ilott soon proceeded to make the pass a lap later with Zhou and Shwartzman immediately following him through as Schumacher pitted for softs, which carried him to 18th at the flag as everyone else behind him looked after their tyres for the opening 20 laps whilst Mazepin and Tsunoda tussled over eighth repeatedly.

Up front, Ticktum and Daruvala dueled throughout the race even whilst Ilott tried to catch up to the duo once passed Schumacher but his tyres ultimately faded, sending him sliding to an eventual tenth placed finish.

Embed from Getty Images

Daruvala meanwhile wasn’t sitting back and launched a move on Ticktum into Turn 10 on lap 25 before fending off the Brit’s fightback down the main straight, from which he was soon able to bridge the gap to claim his first F2 victory.

Ticktum’s tyres eventually gave way and he ultimately found himself fighting Tsunoda with the Japanese driver getting past at Turn 10 on the penultimate lap, only for Ticktum to reclaim second into Turn One but Tsunoda snatched second round the outside of Turn 10 to ensure a Carlin one-two finish.

Zhou eventually edged out Shwartzman for fourth as the Russian struggled for tyre life in the closing laps but finished ahead of Alesi and Ghiotto who climbed from eighth row of grid to finish sixth and seventh as Drugovich claimed the last point of this 2020 season.


2020 Sakhir Sprint Race Result

Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 34 37m 26.570
2 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 34 + 3.561
3 Dan Ticktum DAMS 34 + 3.902
4 Guanyu Zhou UNI Virtuosi 34 + 5.615
5 Robert Shwartzman PREMA 34 + 7.585
6 Giuliano Alesi MP Motorsport 34 + 9.040
7 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP 34 + 11.093
8 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 34 + 13.878
9 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP 34 + 14.536
10 Callum Ilott UNI Virtuosi 34 + 16.023
11 Pedro Piquet Charouz 34 + 16.157
12 Christian Lundgaard ART GP 34 + 17.051
13 Louis Deletraz Charouz 34 + 20.176
14 Marcus Armstrong ART GP 34 + 21.844
15 Roy Nissany Trident 34 + 23.639
16 Marino Sato Trident 34 + 26.089
17 Sean Gelael DAMS 34 + 26.759
18 Mick Schumacher PREMA 34 + 28.529
19 Guilherme Samaia Campos 34 + 35.936
20 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab 34 + 59.769
21 Theo Pourchaire HWA Racelab 33 + 1 Lap
Ralph Boschung Campos 9 Suspension

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Red Bull Finalise F2 and F3 Plans for Junior Drivers – Sport Grill

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.