F3 2020: Theo Pourchaire Wins Dramatic Styrian Race Two

Theo Pourchaire benefitted from a late collision to win the second F3 Styrian race this weekend. (Image credit: Joe Portlock/Getty Images)

16 year-old Theo Pourchaire emerged victorious in a dramatic second F3 Styrian race, following a late collision between Liam Lawson and Jake Hughes. 

Pourchaire briefly led the opening three laps before Lawson and Hughes got past with DRS on the back straight, triggering a race long tussle between the pair for victory which ended in a collision on lap 21. 

Hughes got DRS on run to turn four and decided to pass around the outside, only for Lawson to clip the inside kerb and slide into Hughes breaking their front left and right tyres respectively to bring out a safety car finish. 

Pourchaire managed to avoid the incident and breeze past to take a maiden F3 win from Logan Sargeant and David Beckmann, of who clinched his second third-placed finish of this weekend

Describing his shock victory as the youngest F3 winner, Pourchaire said; “To win the race is amazing.

“It is only my second round in Formula 3, and I would like to thank ART Grand Prix for their amazing work with the car.

Richard Verschoor, Oscar Piastri, Olli Caldwell, Max Fewtrell, Frederik Vesti, Sebastian Fernandez and Lirim Zendeli complete the top ten point scoring finishers.

Embed from Getty Images

Pourchaire made a great start to race into the lead ahead of Hughes, who made a slow getaway from reverse pole as Alex Peroni twice ran wide on the opening lap further down the order at turns one and three. 

Hughes had the French teenager reeled in by lap four and as he went towards the outside line of turn four. Lawson dived down the middle of the pair to take the lead, of which Hughes claimed at the same corner on the next lap. 

Clement Novalak had an airborne moment on lap six when he got launched over the kerb on lap six, luckily continuing after a successful inspection in the pits. 

Lawson meanwhile continued to battle Hughes and reclaimed the lead on lap 11, with a lunge into turn four for the lead. 

Sophia Floersch triggered the first safety car a lap later when she got clipped by ART GP’s Aleksandr Smolyar to send her spinning out of the race, destroying the Rolex sponsored polystyrene in the process. 

Once racing restarted on lap 17, Hughes pushed Lawson all the way which resulted in a race ending collision as Hughes tried the outside line of turn four with stronger traction only for Lawson to clip inside kerb and slide into him to end their races. 

Pourchaire consequently inherited the lead which he held to the checkered flag in a safety car finish, to win from Sargeant and Beckmann. 



Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Theo Pourchaire ART GP 24 38m 25.185
2 Logan Sargeant Prema 24 + 0.464
3 David Beckmann Trident 24 + 0.674
4 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 24 + 1.102
5 Oscar Piastri Prema 24 + 1.805
6 Olli Caldwell Trident 24 + 1.876
7 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP 24 + 2.197
8 Frederik Vesti Prema 24 + 2.594
9 Sebastian Fernandez ART GP 24 + 3.017
10 Lirim Zendeli Trident 24 + 3.324
11 Alex Peroni Campos 24 + 3.662
12 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP 24 + 3.968
13 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 24 + 4.263
14 Igor Fraga Charouz 24 + 4.540
15 Enaam Ahmed Carlin 24 + 5.398
16 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 24 + 5.786
17 David Schumacher Charouz 24 + 6.412
18 Roman Stanek Charouz 24 + 6.592
19 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 24 +8.379
20 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab 24 + 8.588
21 Aleksandr Smolyar ART GP 24 +8.924
22 Alessio Deledda Campos 24 + 9.736
23 Frederico Malvestiti Jenzer 24 + 10.011
24 Calan Williams Jenzer 24 + 11.342
25 Clement Novalak Carlin 23 + 1 lap
26 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 20 Collision
27 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 20 Collision
28 Cameron Das Carlin 20 Collision
29 Sophia Floersch Campos 11 Collision
NC Matteo Nannini Jenzer Engine

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Theo Pourchaire Joins ART GP For 2021 F2 Season – Sport Grill

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.