F2 2020: Robert Shwartzman Wins Wet Styrian Feature Race

Robert Shwartzman took a maiden F2 victory around Spielberg in a dramatic wet Feature Race. (Image credit: Joe Portlock/Getty Images)

Robert Shwartzman clinched a maiden F2 victory in an entertaining wet Feature Race to snatch the lead of the championship from Callum Ilott. 

Having struggled to get to grips with his car during an extended series of formation laps prior to a 50 minute red flag, Shwartzman fought back through the field to make a race winning switchback pass on Guanyu Zhou on lap 27.

The reigning F3 champion graduate then fended off a late charge from pole-sitter Yuki Tsunoda, who lost a maiden lights to flag win through a communication issue which saw him pit too late before charging back to finish in second.

Speaking post-race on his victory, Shwartzman was “super happy” and praised Prema’s “really great strategy”.

On nearly losing the win towards the end, the Russian said; “I saw him coming and the last give laps were really intense, because I started to lose the rear grip. Thankfully, Yuki was struggling a bit by then too, which saved me.”

Zhou rounded out the podium after just edging out Mick Schumacher and Callum Ilott, whilst Christian Lundgaard, Marcus Armstrong, Dan Ticktum, Jack Aitken and Sean Gelael completed the top ten in a reduced 36 lap race. 

Embed from Getty Images

Having been delayed a hour due to F1’s rain delay, the race began with five formation laps, which ultimately proved too wet as Ticktum’s car switched to safety mode with stewards forced to throw a 50 minute red flag until conditions improved. 

Once underway after four laps behind safety car, Tsunoda sped away into a comfortable lead ahead of Zhou who stayed within 2s of the Japanese driver and briefly reduced the deficit when Tsunoda ran wide at turn three on lap 13. 

Ilott kept in touch with the top two until Zhou pitted on lap 22 alongside Shwartzman, before pitting himself a lap later only to lose out to both drivers when rejoining the track. 

Tsunoda meanwhile couldn’t hear his team’s instructions to pit at end of lap 23 and stayed out for three more laps before pitting, which saw him emerge back out in fourth, just as Shwartzman got the switchback on Zhou through turn four to snatch the lead. 

Shwartzman then built up his lead whilst Tsunoda rapidly charged through to take Ilott and Zhou within three laps, before eventually failing to make a race winning pass to reclaim the lead against a stubborn Shwartzman in the closing stages. 

Embed from Getty Images

Further down the field, Lundgaard made excellent progress in the early stages as drivers struggled with treacherous conditions, as he rose to fourth before pitting but a mistake when trying to pass Ilott relegated him to a sixth placed finish. 

Schumacher fought back from a tough first half of the race to reel in Zhou but just couldn’t find that late pass to make it a Prema one-three finish, having displaced Ilott to fifth on the penultimate lap. 

Ticktum will start on reverse pole for tomorrow’s Sprint Race (10:10am BST) after recovering from a tough start in which he struggled with visibility and rain light issues, to eventually pass a struggling Aitken to finish eighth and snatch reverse pole. 

HWA Racelab’s Artem Markelov didn’t even start after beaching his car in the gravel at Wurth Kurve on his sighting lap.

In the championship standings, Shwartzman now leads Ilott by 11 points with 48 points to the Brit’s 37, as Christian Lundgaard climbed to third with 26 points and two points ahead of ART GP teammate – Marcus Armstrong. 



Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Robert Shwartzman Prema 36 56m 32.840s
2 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 36 + 1.512
3 Guanyu Zhou Uni-Virtuosi 36 + 18.228
4 Mick Schumacher Prema 36 + 18.367
5 Callum Ilott Uni-Virtuosi 36 + 20.766
6 Christian Lundgaard ART GP 36 + 22.271
7 Marcus Armstrong ART GP 36 + 24.710
8 Dan Ticktum DAMS 36 + 28.851
9 Jack Aitken Campos 36 + 31.738
10 Sean Gelael DAMS 36 + 32.102
11 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP 36 + 33.012
12 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 36 + 35.430
13 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 36 + 38.963
14 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP 36 + 42.978
15 Roy Nissany  Trident 36 + 53.122
16 Marino Sato Trident 36 + 54.292
17 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport 36 + 54.659
18 Pedro Piquet Charouz 36 + 62.481
19 Louis Deletraz Charouz 36 + 71.498
20 Guilherme Samaia Campos 35 + 1 lap
21 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab 35 + 1 lap
22 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab 0 DNS

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.