F2 2020: Christian Lundgaard Takes Dominant Styrian Sprint Victory

Christian Lundgaard dominated the Styrian Sprint race to take victory. (Image credit: Joe Portlock/Getty Images)

Renault junior, Christian Lundgaard took a maiden F2 win in the 2020 Styrian Sprint race, dominating from DAMS’ Dan Ticktum who finished second ahead of Marcus Armstrong.

Ticktum made the perfect start from reverse pole whilst Lundgaard leapt from third to second into turn one, passing ART GP teammate – Marcus Armstrong and set about chasing down Ticktum.

Lundgaard soon grabbed the lead from the British driver with a late lunge up the inside of turn three, before quickly building up a solid lead which he held until the end to clinch his first F2 victory as a rookie.

Speaking post race on his victory after blowing a potential late push for the podium yesterday, Lundgaard said; “Good day today with the race win. Yesterday I ruined it a bit more myself by taking a trip through the gravel.

“To be on the podium with Marcus (Armstrong) is good. I am here now though and I am happy.”

Ticktum nailed the start to comfortably lead from Lundgaard who took advantage of Armstrong’s slow getaway to climb into second, whilst yesterday’s race winner – Robert Shwartzman spun and stalled on exit of first corner to end his race prematurely. 

Shwartzman’s Prema teammate, Mick Schumacher made a great start to get himself into fourth, as he begun to slowly reel in Armstrong until his fire extinguisher went off on lap 12 which ended his race as he retired in the pits. 

Armstrong then went unchallenged for the final podium spot until the end despite a late charge from the Uni-Virtuosi pair of Guanyu Zhou and Callum Ilott, with the trio separated by just 1.308s at the flag. 

Jack Aitken, Sean Gelael and Nikita Mazepin round out the points finishers, with all three drivers benefitting from Yuki Tsunoda’s retirement on lap nine with a technical issue. 

In terms of the championship, Shwartzman still leads the standing with 48 points heading into Hungary ahead of Lundgaard, who leapfrogs Ilott into second by virtue of his win on 43 points apiece. 

Ticktum improved to fourth in the standings with 36 points ahead of Armstrong who rounds out the top five on 34 points. 



Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Christian Lundgaard ART GP 28 36m 51.582
2 Dan Ticktum DAMS 28 + 2.063
3 Marcus Armstrong ART GP 28 + 10.226
4 Guanyu Zhou Uni-Virtuosi 28 + 10.944
5 Callum Ilott Uni-Virtuosi 28 + 11.534
6 Jack Aitken Campos 28 + 20.458
7 Sean Gelael DAMS 28 + 22.955
8 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP 28 + 23.632
9 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 28 + 24.180
10 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP 28 + 27.770
11 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport 28 + 28.392
12 Louis Deletraz Charouz 28 + 29.247
13 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 28 + 32.770
14 Pedro Piquet Charouz 28 + 34.113
15 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab 28 + 41.821
16 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab 28 + 49.240
17 Guilherme Samaia Campos 28 + 50.818
18 Roy Nissany Trident 28 + 1m 11.311
19 Mick Schumacher Prema 12 Extinguisher
20 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 9 Technical
21 Marino Sato Trident 2 Technical
22 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1 Spin

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.