F2 2020: Styrian Grand Prix – Friday

Yuki Tsunoda dominated the opening day of the Styrian GP weekend. (Image credit: Joe Portlock/Getty Images)

Less than a week after hitting the Red Bull Ring for the opening Austrian round, Formula Two were back at the same venue for Practice and Qualifying as part of Styrian GP weekend. 

Like last weekend, the rookie class of 2020 continued to push established F2 drivers to the edge in a thrilling encounter, which resulted in a tasty looking all-Asian front row for the Styrian Feature Race. 



A slow start saw several drivers opt for just an installation lap before pitting whilst Marcus Armstrong spun at Rindt on his first flier, just as Jehan Daruvala went fastest with a 1m 16.779. 

Marino Sato displaced Daruvala just two minutes later with a 1m 16.675 just as Mick Schumacher spun at Wurth Kurve, beaching his Prema in the gravel to bring the red flag out at where he lost a podium finish in last weekend’s Feature Race. 

Once the session resumed after a five minute stoppage, a flurry of drivers improved their lap times, as Carlin rookie –  Yuki Tsunoda finished quickest with a 1m 15.692 ahead of Nikita Mazepin and Daruvala who completed the top three ahead of Luca Ghiotto and Giuliano Alesi.

DAMS’ Dan Ticktum finished as the fastest Brit ahead of Jack Aitken and Callum Ilott, of which they were separated in eighth, tenth and 13th positions by just 0.105s. 

Charouz’s Louis Deletraz and Pedro Piquet picked up one-place grid penalties for travelling from F2 paddock to pitlane on wet tyres, which aren’t permitted in dry conditions. 



Formula 2 Championship - Round 2:Spielberg - Practice & Qualifying

Tsunoda like in Practice led the field out onto the track and set the first representative time of a 1m 15.132, which was quickly beaten by Guanyu Zhou’s 1m 14.933 as Aitken and Ilott slotted into third and fourth respectively after first fliers.

Most drivers however opted for a second flier after a cool-down lap which Tsunoda nailed to record a 1m 14..803, eventually proving enough for a maiden pole after nobody managed to better his time on their final runs.

Zhou lines up in second after finding time at the death to make it an all-Asian front row, albeit 0.038s slower than Tsunoda. 

Ilott, Ghiotto and Aitken rounded out the top five ahead of Robert Shwartzman who chose to time his first run during the traditional gap, alongside Prema teammate – Mick Schumacher who qualified ninth after both improved on their final runs. 

Last weekend’s Sprint winner, Felipe Drugovich qualified tenth after a tough day in which he struggled in Practice. finishing 20th and 1.615s off Tsunoda’s practice pace. 

Ticktum qualified in 15th but crucially ahead of DAMS’ teammate, Sean Gelael who was just 0.027s slower than the Brit. 

Charouz duo of Piquet and Deletraz qualified in 17th and 18th but their one-place grid drops will see Mazepin jump two spots from 19th to start 17th on the grid. 

Tomorrow’s Feature Race (3:45pm BST) is forecast to be wet so this grid could well look different come the checkered flag. 




Position Driver Team Time
1 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 1m 15.692
2 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP + 0.146
3 Jehan Daruvala Carlin + 0.325
4 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP + 0.353
5 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab + 0.374
6 Christian Lundgaard ART GP + 0.408
7 Robert Shwartzman Prema + 0.468
8 Dan Ticktum DAMS + 0.525
9 Marcus Armstrong ART GP + 0.526
10 Jack Aitken Campos + 0.570
11 Guanyu Zhou Uni-Virtuosi + 0.601
12 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport + 0.627
13 Callum Ilott Uni-Virtuosi  + 0.630
14 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab + 0.778
15 Pedro Piquet Charouz + 0.884
16 Sean Gelael DAMS + 0.900
17 Marino Sato Trident + 1.045
18 Roy Nissany Trident + 1.049
19 Louis Deletraz Charouz + 1.207
20 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport + 1.615
21 Guilherme Samaia Campos + 1.819
22 Mick Schumacher Prema + 12.430



Position Driver Team Time
1 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 1m 14.803
2 Guanyu Zhou Uni-Virtuosi + 0.038
3 Callum Ilott Uni-Virtuosi + 0.085
4 Luca Ghiotto  Hitech GP + 0.171
5 Jack Aitken Campos + 0.173
6 Robert Shwartzman Prema + 0.175
7 Jehan Daruvala Carlin + 0.260
8 Christian Lundgaard ART GP + 0.296
9 Mick Schumacher Prema + 0.338
10 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport + 0.386
11 Marino Sato Trident + 0.427
12 Marcus Armstrong ART GP + 0.462
13 Roy Nissany Trident + 0.471
14 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport + 0.501
15 Dan Ticktum DAMS + 0.502
16 Sean Gelael DAMS + 0.529
17 Pedro Piquet Charouz + 0.596
18 Louis Deletraz Charouz + 0.687
19 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP + 0.725
20 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab + 0.878
21 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab + 0.918
22 Guilherme Samaia Campos + 1.484

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.