McLaren Announce Plans to Enter Formula E

McLaren have announced that they could enter FIA Formula E from 2022-23 season.

In a move that could see the team expand their single-seater commitments beyond McLaren F1 and Arrow McLaren in IndyCar, the team will spend 2021 evaluating whether to make a move into Formula E.

Should the evaluation prove successful, McLaren will enter a team from the 2022-23 season, with McLaren Applied already supplying batteries to the series until the end of the 2021-22 campaign, which would conclude if the team were to enter as a team from the following season.

McLaren Racing CEO, Zak Brown confirmed that the team has been ‘closely observing Formula E’ for a while, with particular focus on the series’ development and future direction as Formula E prepare to commence their seventh season since starting in 2014.

Speaking on prospect of joining the series, Brown said; “The opportunity to take an option on an entry, together with the completion of the McLaren Applied supplier contract with the FIA at the end of Gen 2, gives us the necessary time to decide if Formula E is right for McLaren as a future competition platform.”

Current McLaren Test Driver, Oliver Turvey is set to participate in Formula E this season for NIO 333 Team, alongside with ex junior proteges, Nyck De Vries and Stoffel Vandoorne who both drive for Mercedes Benz EQ.

2019 McLaren Test and Reserve Driver, Sergio Sette Camara will also feature in the upcoming campaign driving for Dragon Racing, with the season commencing with night races on Riyadh Street Circuit in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia across weekend of 26-27 February 2021.

McLaren currently run Lando Norris and Daniel Ricciardo in their Formula One team, whilst Pato O’Ward and Felix Rosenqvist will drive for Arrow McLaren in IndyCar for the 2021 season with Juan Pablo Montoya driving a third car at the Indy 500 at Indianapolis in May.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: