James Collins Selected in 26-Man Republic of Ireland Squad for November Internationals

Luton's James Collins has received a recall by Republic of Ireland after nearly a year out. (Image credit: Luton Town FC)

Luton’s James Collins has received a Republic of Ireland recall after one year out as Stephen Kenny names a 26-man Republic of Ireland squad for November’s international fixtures. 

Collins replaces Sheffield United striker, David McGoldrick who has retired from international duty to focus on club and family commitments, meaning that the Luton striker is back in the squad for the first time since November 2019.

Blackburn Rovers’ duo of Darragh Lenihan and Derrick Williams have been omitted from this latest squad selection as Kevin Long and Dara O’Shea receive recalls, with Williams absent due to a thigh injury.

Kenny has made no changes in his goalkeeping and midfield selections with Darren Randolph, Robbie Brady and Jeff Hendrick amongst those to have retained their places across both goalkeeper and midfield options.

Up front, Southampton’s Shane Long has meanwhile been snubbed as Portsmouth’s Ronan Curtis and Daryl Horgan both receive recalls after missing last month’s fixtures.

Callum O’Dowda, Alan Browne and Jack Byrne are also in the squad after withdrawing from last month’s fixtures due to Coronavirus.

Republic of Ireland will visit England in a friendly at Wembley Stadium on Thursday 12 November in a 7:45pm (GMT) kick-off before concluding their UEFA Nations League B4 campaign with a trip to Wales on Sunday 15 November (5:00pm GMT) and a home clash in Dublin against Bulgaria on Wednesday 18 November (7:45pm GMT).

Here is the full 26-man squad to face England, Wales and Bulgaria on 12, 15 and 18 November respectively;

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham), Mark Travers (Bournemouth), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool)

Defence: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Shane Duffy (Celtic), John Egan (Sheffield United), Dara O’Shea (West Bromwich Albion)

Midfield: James McCarthy (Crystal Palace), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Alan Browne (Preston), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Jayson Molumby (Brighton), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Jack Byrne (Shamrock Rovers)

Forward: Callum Robinson (Sheffield United), Callum O’ Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Aaron Connolly (Brighton), Adam Idah (Norwich), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), James Collins (Luton)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.