Wales Announces 29 Man Squad for November Internationals

Gareth Bale returns from injury as Interim Wales Manager, Rob Page has named a 29-man squad for this month’s international fixtures against USA, Republic of Ireland and Finland.

Bale returns after missing last month’s fixtures through injury as several players are recalled after varying degrees of absence in a huge selection for this month’s three international fixtures.

Newport County’s Tom King and Owain Fon Williams of Dunfermline have both received recalls in the goalkeeper selection, due to Wayne Hennessey and Adam Davies both being ruled out with injuries.

Williams is receiving his first call-up after a three-year absence since making his last appearance in 2017 whilst King returns after being omitted from last month’s selection.

James Lawrence and Tom Lockyer both return in defence to boost the defensive selection to 11 players after missing last month’s matches. including defeat at Wembley to England.

Cardiff’s Will Vaulks has been snubbed in favour of Newport County’s Josh Sheehan and Lincoln City loanee, Brennan Johnson who both are looking to earn their first senior international caps for Wales.

Up front, Gareth Bale returns from injury as Hal Robson-Kanu drops out due to a broken arm which saw him withdraw from last month’s selection.

Page is taking temporary charge whilst Ryan Giggs is suspended from management duties due to a police investigation into an alleged assault concerning Giggs and his girlfriend, as Wales host USA on 12 November at Swansea City’s Liberty Stadium in a 7:45pm kick-off.

Wales then face two tough home ties against Republic of Ireland then Finland at Cardiff City Stadium on 15 and 18 November in UEFA Nations League as they look to top League B4 and claim promotion to League A.

Here is a full list of 29-man Wales squad to face USA (12 November), Republic of Ireland (15 November) and Finland (18 November);

Goalkeepers: Tom King (Newport County), Danny Ward (Leicester City), Owain Fon Williams (Dunfermline Athletic)

Defence: Chris Gunter (Reading), Ben Davies (Tottenham Hotspur), Tom Lockyer (Charlton), James Lawrence (St Pauli), Ben Cabango (Swansea), Neco Williams (Liverpool), Conor Roberts (Swansea), Ethan Ampadu (Chelsea), Chris Mepham (Bournemouth), Joe Rodon (Tottenham Hotspur), Rhys Norrington-Davies (Luton Town)

Midfield: Aaron Ramsay (Juventus), Harry Wilson (Liverpool), Daniel James (Manchester United), Matthew Smith (Manchester City), Joe Morrell (Bristol City), Dylan Levit (Manchester United), Jonny Williams (Charlton), David Brooks (Bournemouth), Josh Sheehan (Newport County), Brennan Johnson (Lincoln City – on loan from Nottingham Forest)

Forwards: Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Tyler Roberts (Leeds United), Kieffer Moore (Cardiff), Rabbi Matondo (Schalke), Tom Lawrence (Derby County)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.