F3 2020: Tuscan Grand Prix – Friday

Lirim Zendeli overcame a competitive Friday to take the first-ever Tuscan F3 pole position. (Image credit: Joe Portlock/Getty Images)

Formula Three head to Mugello for the final round of this 2020 season as six drivers remain in the hunt for the title as drivers took to the track for Practice and Qualifying. 

With six drivers still in the title hunt coming into this final weekend of the season at a new circuit, Practice and Qualifying certainly proved decisive as drivers focused not just on learning the circuit but also understanding the tyre compound which eventually threw up an interesting grid for Race One.

Here is a full roundup of Practice and Qualifying action.



Jake Hughes dominated Practice to record the fastest time. (Image credit: Dan Istitene/Getty Images)

Everyone was straight out for installation laps as they all began to get to grips with Mugello for the first time, with Hitech’s Dennis Hauger setting the initial pace until HWA Racelab’s Jake Hughes imposed his authority minutes later with a 1m 38.011 as everyone continued to adapt to the circuit with times falling with every flying lap attempted.

Lirim Zendeli and Jack Doohan then snatched top spot in 14th and 15th minutes until Hughes posted a session topping time of 1m 36.423 just one minute later.

Jenzer’s Matteo Nannini continued his strong form of recent weeks as he popped up in fourth just five minutes afterwards, as drivers switched focus to long runs with Hughes leading David Beckmann and Zendeli come the halfway mark with just 0.252 seconds separating the trio.

Race simulations soon dominated the closing stages with just a few drivers opting for new tyres as Hughes eventually held on to top the session from Zendeli who improved to second, albeit 0.008s off the Brit but ahead of Hauger, Beckmann, Theo Pourchaire, Nannini, Sebastian Fernandez, Sargeant, Frederik Vesti and Liam Lawson who rounded out the top ten.

Championship leader, Oscar Piastri was down in 13th and 0.744s off Hughes’ pace ahead of a crucial qualifying session as the Aussie had a five place grid penalty lingering over his head.



Lirim Zendeli overcame a competitive Qualifying to take pole for Tuscan Race One. (Image credit: Rudy Carezzevoli/Getty Images)

As often has been the case this season, the Trident trio of Zendeli, Beckmann and Olli Caldwell were first out on track with Beckmann leading the initial pace across both fliers on the opening runs, with his provisional pole time only bettered by Hughes who posted 1m 36.060 to go 0.009s quicker than the German with Sargeant, Vesti and Piastri rounding out the top five.

Fellow title contenders, Pourchaire and Lawson were sat in seventh and 12th after their initial efforts, although the latter found himself demoted to 13th shortly afterwards when Nannini jumped up to 12th once majority of drivers pitted.

Zendeli eventually clinched pole on the first flier of his second run with a 1m 35.328 to take his second pole in three rounds as everyone improved, with Sargeant outqualifying Hughes, Vesti, Enzo Fittipaldi, Fernandez, Pourchaire, Beckmann, Hauger and Aleksandr Smolyar.

Sargeant however will drop to fifth as he takes a three place grid penalty whilst Piastri could only manage to qualify 11th, but a five place drop will see him start Race One from 16th on the grid.

Clement Novalak meanwhile is set to start from the back of the grid after collecting a five place penalty for spinning Piastri out of the second race at Monza last weekend, having only managed to qualify 23rd and 1.209s off Zendeli’s pole time.

Hauger post session was handed a three place penalty for impeding Novalak and will therefore start Race One from 12th place on the grid, whilst Michael Belov will start 23rd after he was found to had impeded Cameron Das with both him and Hauger judged to have allowed faster cars past much later than they ought to have done.




Position Driver Team Time
1 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1m 36.423
2 Lirim Zendeli Trident + 0.008
3 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP + 0.131
4 David Beckmann Trident + 0.196
5 Theo Pourchaire ART GP + 0.257
6 Matteo Nannini Jenzer + 0.390
7 Sebastian Fernandez ART GP + 0.438
8 Logan Sargeant Prema + 0.448
9 Frederik Vesti Prema + 0.457
10 Liam Lawson Hitech GP + 0.484
11 Michael Belov Charouz + 0.663
12 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab + 0.690
13 Oscar Piastri Prema + 0.744
14 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport + 0.745
15 Alex Peroni Campos + 0.772
16 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab + 0.892
17 David Schumacher Carlin + 0.903
18 Aleksandr Smolyar ART GP + 0.919
19 Olli Caldwell Trident + 0.928
20 Roman Stanek Charouz + 1.136
21 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport + 1.152
22 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer + 1.326
23 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport + 1.521
24 Calan Williams Jenzer + 1.590
25 Clement Novalak Carlin + 1.721
26 Sophia Floersch Campos + 1.855
27 Cameron Das Carlin + 2.377
28 Alessio Deledda Campos + 2.485


Position Driver Team Time
1 Lirim Zendeli Trident 1m 35.328
2 Logan Sargeant Prema + 0.034
3 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab + 0.125
4 Frederik Vesti Prema + 0.220
5 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab + 0.233
6 Sebastian Fernandez ART GP + 0.266
7 Theo Pourchaire ART GP + 0.303
8 David Beckmann Trident + 0.318
9 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP + 0.354
10 Aleksandr Smolyar ART GP + 0.365
11 Oscar Piastri Prema + 0.371
12 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab + 0.613
13 Liam Lawson Hitech GP + 0.671
14 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport + 0.715
15 Alex Peroni Campos + 0.766
16 Matteo Nannini Jenzer + 0.807
17 David Schumacher Carlin + 0.838
18 Olli Caldwell Trident + 0.848
19 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport + 0.903
20 Michael Belov Charouz + 0.991
21 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer + 1.036
22 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport + 1.149
23 Clement Novalak Carlin + 1.209
24 Sophia Floersch Campos + 1.278
25 Calan Williams Jenzer + 1.525
26 Roman Stanek Charouz + 1.551
27 Cameron Das Carlin + 2.243
28 Alessio Deledda Campos + 2.247

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.