UEFA Announces Host Cities for Remaining Rounds of 2019-20 Competitions

After another thrilling season of English Football drew to a close on Saturday, who has made our 2018-19 squad XI? (Image credit: Canberra Times)

UEFA have confirmed that Lisbon, Cologne, Bilbao and Sebastian will host remaining stages of respective Champions, Europa and Women’s Champions League rounds.

Lisbon will play host to the Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and the Final of the 2019-20 Champions League tournament from 12-23 August with games played at Estadio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica and Estadio Jose Alvalade stadiums. 

There are however plans to play some Round of 16 ties at the Estadio do Dragao in Porto and Estadio Dom Afonso Henriques in Guimaraes if any outstanding ties can’t be played at the home team’s venue, with the four outstanding ties set to played on either 7 or 8 August.

The four Quarter-Finals will be stripped across nights of 12, 13, 14 and 15 August, as straight knockout matches with the winners then meeting in the Semi-Finals on 18 or 19 August which too will be a straight knockout match. 

Estadio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica will then host the final on 23 August, which would see the Champions League Final take place for the first time on a Sunday in its history. 

Cologne meanwhile will host the Europa League from 10-21 August, with second legs of the Last 16 rounds set to played on 5 and 6 August with kick off time of either 5:55pm (BST) or 8pm (BST) either at the home team’s venue or in Germany.

Getafe and Sevilla however will play their respective matches against Inter Milan and AS Roma as straight knockout matches, after the first legs of their ties were postponed in March due to the Coronavirus pandemic. 

The Quarter-Finals will then be played across 10-11 August before Semi-Finals then take place on 16 and 17 August prior to the Final on 21 August which all will be 8pm (BST) kick offs. 

Across in Spain, Bilbao and San Sebastian will share joint hosting rights to the remaining rounds of this season’s UEFA Women’s Champions League between 21-30 August, with matches played in a straight knockout format. 

Arsenal Women therefore could face three matches in nine days if they are win a second European title and qualify for next season’s tournament, having failed to do so through the Women’s Super League. 

The final will be held at the Anoeta Stadium in San Sebastian on 30 August.

Speaking of these announcements, UEFA President – Aleksander Ceferin described the resumption and conclusion of this season’s club European tournaments as “of the utmost importance…” and is “delighted that we have found solutions to stage the final rounds of all those competitions.”

Ceferin however paid particular comment to the Women’s Champions League in which he believes that “… it was important to send a strong signal that it is possible to complete this season, in a time where women’s sports have suffered substantially.”


UEFA Confirm Final Hosts for Next Four Years

Embed from Getty Images

With the closing stages of current tournaments now being played in one host city, this means that UEFA have appointed this year’s initial final hosts as 2021 final hosts with locations for finals up to 2024 now also confirmed. 

Istanbul (Turkey) will host next season’s Champions League Final before St-Petersburg (Russia) and Munich (Germany) play host in 2022 and 23 respectively, whilst Wembley Stadium (London) will host the final in 2024.

Across in the Europa League, Gdansk Stadium in Poland will host next season’s final, with Seville (Spain) and Budapest (Hungary) also shuffling back a year to host the 2021-22 and 2022-23 finals respectively. 

Gothenberg (Sweden) will play host to next season’s Women’s Champions League Final before Turin (Italy) and Eindhoven (Netherlands) then host 2021-22 and 2022-23 finals respectively. 


Plans for 2020-21 Season Finalised

UEFA also finalised plans for next season’s competitions which will see every senior competition overlap more than under normal circumstances. 


Champions League

All four early Qualifying rounds of the Champions League (including the Preliminary Round) will be played as straight knockout matches with extra-time and penalties applied, on the following dates; 

Preliminary Round – 8 or 11 August 2020

First Qualifying Round – 18 or 19 August 2020

Second Qualifying Round – 25 or 26 August 2020

Third Qualifying Round – 15 or 16 September 2020

The Play-Offs however will be played under the normal two legged format across midweeks of 22/23 and 29/30 September.

Late October would then see the Group Stage commence with a pair of triple headers either side of the November international break, beginning with matches across midweeks of 20/21 and 27/28 October before the first legs are finished on 3 and 4 November. 

The return legs would then be played across 24/25 November plus 1/2 and 8/9 December, with the knockout stage currently scheduled to go ahead as planned from mid February 2021. 


Europa League

Europa League meanwhile will see every qualifying round including the Preliminary and Play-Off rounds contested as knockout matches on the following dates;

Preliminary Round – 20 August 2020

First Qualifying Round – 27 August 2020

Second Qualifying Round – 17 September 2020

Third Qualifying Round – 24 September 2020

Play-Offs – 1 October 2020

Europa League Group Stage will begin on 22 October with first legs also held on 29 October and 5 November. Return legs will then follow on 26 November plus 3 and 10 December. 

Knockout stages dates remain unchanged and is expected to go ahead as planned. 


Women’s Champions League

UEFA have released a full revised Women’s Champions League calendar with mini Qualifying tournaments taking place across 7-13 October 2020. 

The knockout stages will then commence with the Round of 32 across 11/12 and 18/19 November, prior to a winter break with the Round of 16 now rescheduled for midweeks of 3/4 and 10/11 March rather than take place before Xmas as been the case in recent seasons.

Quarter-Final ties will then be held across 23/24 March and 31 March / 1 April, with Semi-Final ties following across 24/25 April and 1/2 May. 

Gothenburg will then host the final a fortnight later on 16 May 2021. 

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. UEFA Announces Host Cities for Remaining Rounds of 2019-20 Competitions | Sport Grill - My Hot News Pakistan

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.