Manchester City Handed Tough Opening Match As 2022-23 Premier League Fixtures Announced

(Image credit: Lynne Cameron - Manchester City/Getty Images)

Manchester City will kick off their title defence away at West Ham on the opening weekend of 2022-23 season, following release of fixture lists.

City enter this season as reigning champions after having defended their title last season, following a tense final day showdown as they fought back in a 2-2 draw against Aston Villa to deny Liverpool any prospect of snatching the title.

Pep Guardiola’s Citizens however will open the new season away at home to West Ham on Sunday 6 August (4:30pm BST), who they coincidentally played in their last away match of last season which finished 2-2 in Mark Noble’s final home match for the Hammers prior to his retirement.

Erik Ten Haag’s bow as Manchester United manager will take place at Old Trafford in a home clash against Brighton in the 2pm kick-off on 6 August live on Sky Sports.

Sky will also televise the opening fixture of the season, which will see Arsenal visit Crystal Palace on Friday 5 August in Friday Night Football, with kick-off at 8pm BST.

This fixture also sees Mikel Arteta’s Gunners start the season with an away London derby on the opening weekend for a third consecutive campaign, having defeated Fulham in September 2020 then lost at Brentford last season.

BT Sport will kick off their coverage on Saturday 5 August as Fulham host Liverpool at Craven Cottage in a 12:30pm kick-off, with the Cottagers looking to enjoy a winning return after having secured a rebound promotion at the first time of asking last season.

Nottingham Forest are back in the top-flight after a 23-year absence and will start their season away at Newcastle on Saturday 6 August at 3pm BST.

Forest will visit Leicester on Saturday 1 October in the first East Midlands derby of the season, with the return leg at the City Ground scheduled for weekend of 13-16 January 2023.

Brentford were the only promoted club last season to avoid relegation and they will start their second Premier League campaign away to Leicester at 3pm on Saturday 6 August.

Here is the opening round of fixtures to be played across 5-7 August in full;

Friday 5 August

  • Crystal Palace v Arsenal (8pm, Sky Sports)

Saturday 6 August (3pm unless stated)

  • Fulham v Liverpool (12:30pm, BT Sport)
  • Bournemouth v Aston Villa
  • Leeds v Wolves
  • Leicester v Brentford
  • Newcastle United vs Nottingham Forest
  • Tottenham Hotspur v Southampton
  • Everton v Chelsea (5:30pm, Sky Sports)

Sunday 7 August

  • Manchester United v Brighton (2pm, Sky Sports)
  • West Ham v Manchester City (4:30pm, Sky Sports)

Due to the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar running from 21 November – 18 December, there will be a mid-season break for the Premier League, with the final round of matches played across weekend of 11-13 November. featuring no blockbuster fixtures as requested by the FA.

The season then recommences on Boxing Day which will feature two London derbies as Arsenal and Crystal Palace host West Ham and Fulham respectively;

  • Arsenal v West Ham
  • Aston Villa v Liverpool
  • Brentford v Tottenham
  • Chelsea v Bournemouth
  • Crystal Palace v Fulham
  • Everton v Wolves
  • Leeds v Manchester City
  • Leicester v Newcastle
  • Manchester United v Nottingham Forest
  • Southampton v Brighton

In order to avoid a risk of instant player burnout on their return from the World Cup, Premier League officials have opted to shift the traditional festive midweek round back to Bank Holiday Monday 2 January 2023.

The three midweek rounds will be played across the following midweeks with Tottenham and Man City playing Man Utd and Arsenal respectively in the latter two midweek rounds;

  • 30-31 August 2022
  • 18-19 October 2022
  • 25-26 April 2023

Amazon Prime have confirmed that they will stream all ten matches of the midweek round across 18-19 October, as well as the Boxing Day fixture list.

Across the second half of the season, 22 rounds will be played with the final round of fixtures confirmed for Sunday 28 May, in which all ten fixtures will kick off simultaneously at 4pm BST UK Time with the following games to conclude the season;

  • Arsenal v Wolves
  • Aston Villa v Brighton
  • Brentford v Manchester City
  • Chelsea v Newcastle United
  • Crystal Palace v Nottingham Forest
  • Everton v Bournemouth
  • Leeds v Tottenham
  • Leicester v West Ham
  • Manchester United v Fulham
  • Southampton v Liverpool

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.