Jordan Nobbs Named In Latest Lionesses Squad For 2023 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers

Jordan Nobbs has been named in the latest Lionesses squad for 2023 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers against Austria and Latvia.

This inclusion marks the first time that Nobbs has been called up under manager, Sarina Wiegman after an ankle injury plus other injury issues often kept her out of the squad in recent seasons.

Nobbs will replace her Arsenal teammate, Leah Williamson who is ruled out with a hamstring injury.

Wiegman has named an unchanged goalkeeping and defensive selection with Mary Earps, Rachel Daly and Lotte Wubben-Moy amongst those to retain their places in the squad, as Ellie Roebuck, Steph Houghton and Lucy Bronze remain absent with injury.

Lucy Staniforth meanwhile is the only unreplaced absentee in midfield as the forward selection remains unchanged with Beth Mead selected after impressing with four goals in October’s Qualifiers against Northern Ireland and Latvia.

Ellen White meanwhile could earn her 100th international senior cap during this international window if she makes at least one appearance, whilst three goals would see her make history and become the Lionesses’ record goal-scorer in all competitions.

Currently top of Group D, England will host second-placed Austria on Saturday 27 November at Sunderland’s Stadium of Light in a 12:30pm kick-off, before then welcoming Latvia to Keepmoat Stadium, Doncaster on Tuesday 30 November in a 7pm kick-off.

Both matches will televised live on ITV1 and ITV4 respectively.

Here is England Lionesses’ 23-women squad in full to face Austria and Latvia on 27 and 30 November.

Goalkeepers – Mary Earps (Manchester United), Sandy Maclver (Everton), Hannah Hampton (Aston Villa)

Defence – Millie Bright (Chelsea), Jess Carter (Chelsea), Niamh Charles (Chelsea), Rachel Daly (Houston Dash), Alex Greenwood (Manchester City), Demi Stokes (Manchester City), Lotte Wubben-Moy (Arsenal),

Midfield – Jill Scott (Manchester City), Georgia Stanway (Manchester City), Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal), Keira Walsh (Manchester City), Katie Zelem (Manchester United)

Forwards – Bethany England (Chelsea), Lauren Hemp (Manchester City), Fran Kirby (Chelsea), Beth Mead (Arsenal), Nikita Parris (Arsenal), Alessio Russo (Manchester United), Ella Toone (Manchester United), Ellen White (Manchester City)

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Sarina Wiegman Unveil England Lionesses Squad For 2022 Arnold Clark Cup – Sport Grill
  2. Sarina Wiegman Unveil England Lionesses Squad For 2022 Arnold Clark Cup - Apex Breaking News Today

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.