Oscar Piastri Claims Pole Position For F2 Italian Feature Race

(Image credit: @Formula2)

PREMA’s Oscar Piastri claimed pole position for Sunday’s F2 Italian Feature Race at Monza, Italy.

Piastri finished fifth in Practice but delivered a dominant performance in Qualifying to take his second pole position of the season, which saw him extend his championship lead to nine points.

Jehan Daruvala, Guanyu Zhou, Liam Lawson and Felipe Drugovich rounded out the top five ahead of Ralph Boschung, Theo Pourchaire and Practice pacesetter – Dan Ticktum.

Full roundup of Friday’s F2 action at Monza, Italy across Practice and Qualifying.



Embed from Getty Images

A quiet start to the session saw majority of drivers opt for a minimum of two warm-up laps with Carlin’s Daruvala setting the pace in the opening ten minutes on 1m 34.363 from Boschung and Ticktum.

Lawson proceeded to displace Daruvala three minutes later by 0.642s before Ticktum displaced the New Zealander by 0.532s with a 1m 33.189 ahead of Daruvala and Pourchaire just seconds later.

Ticktum found a further 0.147s on his next flier to set a session-topping 1m 33.042 ahead of Pourchaire by 0.225s, after the Frenchman edged Daruvala out for second by 0.008s as David Beckmann and Piastri rounded out the top five.

Race simulations largely unfolded without drama except for Roy Nissany who suffered a massive engine blow-out as he exited Variante Ascari with 11 minutes left, thus causing a brief Virtual Safety Car as his car was removed.

Nissany’s DAMS teammate, Marcus Armstrong meanwhile failed to register a competitive lap time after a technical issue curtailed his session early, as he ultimately found himself 19.609s off the pace after posting just one lap time.

Position Driver Team Time 
1 Dan Ticktum Carlin 1m 33.042
2 Theo Pourchaire ART GP + 0.225
3 Jehan Daruvala Carlin + 0.233
4 David Beckmann Campos + 0.367
5 Oscar Piastri PREMA + 0.383
6 Marino Sato Trident + 0.462
7 Christian Lundgaard ART GP + 0.466
8 Bent Viscaal Trident + 0.620
9 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport + 0.641
10 Liam Lawson Hitech GP + 0.679
11 Juri Vips Hitech GP + 0.739
12 Ralph Boschung Campos + 0.743
13 Guanyu Zhou UNI-Virtuosi + 0.798
14 Felipe Drugovich UNI-Virtuosi + 0.850
15 Lirim Zendeli MP Motorsport + 0.885
16 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab + 1.010
17 Guilherme Samaia Charouz + 1.114
18 Robert Shwartzman PREMA + 1.187
19 Roy Nissany DAMS + 1.344
20 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz + 1.812
21 Alessio Deledda HWA + 2.748
22 Marcus Armstrong DAMS + 19.609



Embed from Getty Images

Hitech GP duo of Juri Vips and Liam Lawson led the pack out for the opening runs but it was Campos’ Ralph Boschung who set the pace after the first flying laps, as he posted 1m 32.609 which was 0.041s quicker than Ticktum.

Piastri however found time on his next lap to displace Boschung and Ticktum with a 1m 32.402 as Lawson and Felipe Drugovich rounded out the top five by the time everyone retreated to the pit-lane.

Final runs saw Piastri further improve to 1m 32.199 to secure his second consecutive pole position for F2’s Feature Race, which takes place on Sunday (12 September) and consequently extended his lead in the title race to nine points over Zhou.

Boschung lost second place to Daruvala, Zhou, Lawson and Drugovich but momentarily reclaimed second at the checkered flag, only for stewards to his lap time after he exceeded track limits which dropped the Swiss driver to sixth.

Pourchaire, Ticktum, Vips and Beckmann rounded out the top ten with Beckmann claiming reverse-grid pole for the opening Sprint Race tomorrow (11 September).

Position Driver Team Time 
1 Oscar Piastri PREMA 1m 32.199
2 Jehan Daruvala Carlin + 0.041
3 Guanyu Zhou UNI-Virtuosi + 0.057
4 Liam Lawson Hitech GP + 0.184
5 Felipe Drugovich UNI-Virtuosi + 0.210
6 Ralph Boschung Campos + 0.354
7 Theo Pourchaire ART GP + 0.387
8 Dan Ticktum Carlin + 0.442
9 Juri Vips Hitech GP + 0.476
10 David Beckmann Campos + 0.500
11 Lirim Zendeli MP Motorsport + 0.686
12 Robert Shwartzman PREMA + 0.743
13 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz + 0.766
14 Marino Sato Trident + 0.824
15 Roy Nissany DAMS + 0.832
16 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab + 0.844
17 Marcus Armstrong DAMS + 0.855
18 Bent Viscaal Trident + 0.881
19 Christian Lundgaard ART GP + 0.956
20 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport + 0.994
21 Guilherme Samaia Charouz + 1.279
22 Alessio Deledda HWA Racelab + 1.995

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Oscar Piastri Claims Pole Position For F2 Italian Feature Race - Arab News

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.