St Johnstone Defeat Hibernian 1-0 to Win 2020-21 Scottish Cup

(Image credit: Alan Harvey / SNS Group)

Shaun Rooney’s 31st minute header proved enough for St Johnstone to complete a 1-0 victory over Hibernian to clinch a domestic cup double with 2020-21 Scottish Cup

A cagey first half saw both teams waste chances until David Wotherspoon whipped in a 31st minute cross to the right post, where Rooney was alert to head in the winner.

Hibernian battled on in search of an equaliser but ultimately proved unsuccessful despite Matt Macey saving a 75th penalty from St Johnstone’s Glenn Middleton before blocking Chris Kane’s rebound, as the Saints clung on to seal victory and their second Scottish Cup after winning the competition back in 2014.

This result also secured St Johnstone their first-ever cup double after winning the Scottish League Cup over Livingston by the same result in late February, as well marking the fifth consecutive season in which the League Cup winners went on to lift the Scottish Cup in a domestic cup double.

St Johnstone will therefore now enter next season’s UEFA Europa League at the Third Qualifying Round stage in August, whilst Hibernian and Aberdeen will be in the new UEFA Europa Conference League from late July in the Second Qualifying Round.

Embed from Getty Images

Hibs made a scruffy start on the front foot but struggled to create many opportunities as Kane created the first proper chance for the Saints, firing wide in the ninth minute from a flicked pass from a throw-in.

Middleton seven minutes later broke on the counter but could only slice his shot straight into Macey’s arms, before Paul McGinn fired over the bar for Hibs just four minutes later.

Hibs’ Christian Doidge – who has scored a joint-high five goals in this season’s edition alongside Bonnyrigg Rose’s Lee Currie, saw a 29th minute shot go begging as he played an one-two shot with Alex Gogic but his half-volley shot was blocked and then safely gathered by Zander Clark.

St Johnstone soon afterwards went up the other end and neatly worked their way into space on the left flank for Booth to block two Hibs clearances, of which his second block deflected nicely for Wotherspoon to whip across to the right post for Rooney to nod in.

Both teams then traded scrappy chances before the break with Hibs’ Joe Newell going closest six minutes after conceding, as he broke forward but could only fire over the top left corner as he cut in from the right.

Upon the restart, Hibs made the better start as Doidge saw a shot and header denied by a stubborn Saints defence, as Jamie Murphy saw a curled shot saved by Clark.

The reigning Scottish League Cup winners eventually got themselves into the second half as Wotherspoon saw a curled shot go wide of the bottom left corner in the 72nd minute.

Two minutes later, substitute – Murray Davidson played Kane through and the 26 year-old striker was pulled to ground inside the box by Paul McGinn as he lined up a second goal to finish this final off for the Saints.

Middleton proceeded to step up but his penalty down the middle was denied by Macey who dived correctly to his left, blocking the shot before swiftly blocking Kane’s rebound effort.

Hibs continued to push to force extra time but just couldn’t break down a three-man defence as St Johnstone clung on to become the first team outside of Rangers and Celtic to achieve the domestic cup double since Aberdeen in 1989-90 season.


St Johnstone: Zander Clark (GK), Jason Kerr, Liam Gordon, Jamie McCart, Shaun Rooney (Brown 79′), Ali McCann, Craig Bryson (Davidson 64′), Callum Booth, David Wotherspoon, Glenn Middleton (O’Halloran 82′), Chris Kane

Substitutes: James Brown, Scott Tanser, Craig Conway, Murray Davidson, Michael O’ Halloran, Elliot Parish (GK), Stevie May, Guy Melamed, Liam Craig

Hibernian: Matt Macey (GK), Paul McGinn, Ryan Porteous, Paul Hanlon, Josh Doig (Stevenson 76′), Martin Boyle, Alex Gogic (Murphy 56′), Joe Newell (Hallberg 72′), Jackson Irvine, Christian Doidge, Kevin Nisbet

Substitutes: Ofir Marciano David Gray, Kyle Magennis, Drey Wright, Lewis Stevenson, Jamie Murphy, Melker Hallberg, Darren McGregor

3 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. St Johnstone Defeat Hibernian 1-0 to Win 2020-21 Scottish Cup -
  2. St Johnstone Defeat Hibernian 1-0 to Win 2020-21 Scottish Cup – Sport Grill | Get World News
  3. St Johnstone Defeat Hibernian 1-0 to Win 2020-21 Scottish Cup - OrbMena News

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.