Lewis Hamilton Dominates 2020 Spanish Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton dominated the entire field to win 2020 Spanish Grand Prix from pole position. (Image credit: Albert Gea, Pool via AP)

Lewis Hamilton clinched a record-breaking 156th podium as he dominated the 2020 Spanish Grand Prix to take victory from Red Bull’s Max Verstappen.

Hamilton got a great start from pole to hold onto the lead as he controlled the pace from Verstappen, before pulling away in his middle stint to eventually lap the entire field except for Verstappen and Bottas and clinch victory plus his record breaking 156th podium finish.

Speaking post-race on what he described as “incredible”, Hamilton said; “I was just in a daze out there, I didn’t even know it was the last lap in the end, that’s how in the zone I was. I can’t remember the last time I felt like that.”

Sergio Perez executed an one stop strategy to finish fourth on the road but a five second time penalty demoted him behind Racing Point teammate, Lance Stroll.

Carlos Sainz brought his McLaren home in sixth ahead of Sebastian Vettel, Alex Albon, Pierre Gasly and Lando Norris who complete the top ten.

In terms of the drivers’ standings, Hamilton extended his lead over Verstappen to 37 points, as Bottas sits six points further behind in third.

Mercedes meanwhile lead Red Bull in the Constructors’ standings by 86 points as Racing Point leapt from fifth to third, ahead of McLaren and Ferrari as just two points separate those three teams. 

Embed from Getty Images

Hamilton got a clean start to bolt away in the lead as Verstappen moved up past Bottas, who lost third to Stroll until he regained the position into Turn One on lap five with DRS.

Verstappen soon settled into a consistent pace which was around 1.5 seconds off Hamilton, until his soft tyres began to give up which left Verstappen over eight seconds behind the Brit when he stopped on lap 22.

Mercedes then opted to double-stack Hamilton and Bottas on lap 24 but a mistake with Hamilton’s rear left cost Bottas who came out behind Verstappen and was unable to get close throughout the remainder of the race.

Further behind the field, Albon attempted a two stop strategy of hard then medium tyres but was undercut by Sainz who produced a stunning defence after stopping on lap 43 to eventually drive to a sixth placed finish after passing the one-stopping Vettel on lap 60.

Albon eventually held off Gasly and Norris for eighth as Ricciardo nearly made an one stop strategy of mediums to softs work, eventually having to settle for eleventh after failing to pass Norris in the closing laps. 

Charles Leclerc was the only retirement in this race after suffering an electrical issue following a spin on exit Turn 14 on lap 39 after locking his left-rear tyre, which caused the power unit to switch off briefly. 


Race Result

Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 66 1h 31m 45.279
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull 66 + 24.177
3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 66 + 44.752
4 Lance Stroll Racing Point 65 + 1 Lap
5 Sergio Perez Racing Point 65 + 1 Lap
6 Carlos Sainz McLaren 65 + 1 Lap
7 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 65 + 1 Lap
8 Alex Albon Red Bull 65 + 1 Lap
9 Pierre Gasly Alpha Tauri 65 + 1 Lap
10 Lando Norris McLaren 65 + 1 Lap
11 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 65 + 1 Lap
12 Daniil Kvyat Alpha Tauri 65 + 1 Lap
13 Esteban Ocon Renault 65 + 1 Lap
14 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo 65 + 1 Lap
15 Kevin Magnussen Haas 65 + 1 Lap
16 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo 65 + 1 Lap
17 George Russell Williams 65 + 1 Lap
18 Nicholas Latifi Williams 64 + 2 Laps
19 Romain Grosjean Haas 64 + 2 Laps
20 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 40 Electrical

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. 2021 Spanish Grand Prix Preview – Sport Grill
  2. Lewis Hamilton’s Three Greatest Hungarian Grand Prix Victories – Sport Grill

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.