EFL Announces 2020-21 Season Dates

EFL have announced full details on key dates throughout the upcoming 2020-21 season, with league fixtures released on Friday 21 August.

Championship, Leagues One and Two will begin their new campaigns across the weekend commencing Saturday 12 September, with all three competitions coming to a climax across the weekend of 8 and 9 May 2021.

There will be additional midweek rounds this season due to the six week delay on the EFL’s traditional start date, with the Championship having 13 midweek rounds of fixtures.

Leagues One and Two meanwhile will have 11 midweek rounds each over the course of the coming eight months.

Play-Off Finals across all three divisions will return to their usual late May Bank Holiday weekend slots, taking place at Wembley Stadium across weekend of 29-31 May 2021.

Fixtures for each league ahead of the 2020-21 season will be released on Friday 21 August at 9am.


Carabao Cup to Go Ahead

Embed from Getty Images

EFL have also announced that this season’s Carabao Cup will go ahead as planned, albeit with a minor format change at the semi-final stage as Manchester City look to defend their title.

Carabao Cup is scheduled to commence on weekend of 5/6 September with Round One split into Northern and Southern sections, although fixtures could be played on alternative dates if necessary due to falling during the international window. 

The draw for the First Round will be broadcast live on Sky Sports News on Tuesday 18 August, with exact timing details yet to be announced. 

Rounds Two, Three and Four will however remain in usual midweek slots but played across three midweeks of 15/16, 22/23 and 29/30 September respectively. 

Premier League clubs who failed to qualify for Europe including Wolves will enter as normal in the second round, whilst last season’s top six plus Arsenal will enter in Round Three.

Quarter-Finals will be played in the midweek before Xmas across 22 and 23 December 2020. 

Semi-Finals however will be just one legged ties this season to reduce fixture congestion due to the Coronavirus pandemic, with ties being played on 5 and 6 January at the home ground of the teams drawn out first for both ties. 

Wembley will host the 2020-21 Carabao Cup Final on Sunday 28 February 2021. 


EFL Trophy Goes Ahead as Normal

Embed from Getty Images

EFL Trophy will go ahead as planned under the traditional name after Leasing.com chose not to renew their sponsorship deal. 

Group stage matches will be played across the midweeks of 8/9 September 2020, 6/7 October 2020 and 10/11 November 2020. 

Rounds of 32 then 16 will be contested in the midweeks of 8/9 December 2020 and 12/13 January 2021, ahead of the Quarter-Finals across the midweek of 2/3 February 2021. 

Semi-Finals will follow a fortnight later in midweek of 16/17 February with the Final at Wembley on 14 March 2021.

Under 21 teams from 16 clubs in the top two divisions have been invited to participate in 2020-21 EFL Trophy, with those clubs being; Arsenal, Aston Villa, Brighton. Chelsea, Fulham, Leeds, Leicester, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle, Norwich, Southampton, West Brom, West Ham and Wolves. 

2019-20 EFL Trophy Final between Portsmouth and Salford is also expected to take place once fans are permitted to attend matches again, having been postponed from its April date due to the pandemic. 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.