Bent Viscaal Snatches Maiden F3 Victory in Silverstone Race Two Thriller

Bent Viscaal snatched a dramatic maiden F3 victory from Lirim Zendeli in a thriller. (Image credit: Joe Portlock/Getty Images)

MP Motorsport’s Bent Viscaal snatched a dramatic maiden victory in a thrilling second race of F3 Silverstone round. 

Having battled Lirim Zendeli throughout the race, Viscaal initially took the lead at Copse but Zendeli fought back round the outside of Stowe and into Vale, although Viscaal got better traction and passed round outside of Club to take his debut F3 win. 

Speaking post race on his win, Viscaal described the feeling as “… absolutely incredible.” 

Theo Pourchaire finished third after edging Liam Lawson wide at Club as the Aussie eventually got pipped to fourth by David Beckmann, with Oscar Piastri, Jake Hughes, Frederik Vesti, Clement Novalak and Enzo Fittipaldi rounding out the top ten. 

Fittipaldi then received a post-race penalty for passing Cameron Das off track at Vale, which meant that Igor Fraga inherited the final point in tenth position as Fittipaldi slipped to 17th with a five second time penalty.

Yesterday’s race winner, Logan Sargeant failed to finish after suffering a puncture on lap 10 from Carlin’s Cameron Das, meaning that Piastri cut his championship deficit to the American down to a single point with four rounds left of this 2020 season. 

Formula 3 Championship - Round 5:Silverstone - Second Race
Zendeli leads Viscaal at race start after pole-sitter, Ben Barnicoat got a slow getaway. (Image credit: Clive Mason/Getty Images)

Reverse pole-sitter, Ben Barnicoat made a poor start as he slid down to third behind Zendeli and Viscaal as mayhem unfolded behind the front runners. 

Alex Peroni clipped Aleksandr Smolyar at Village to cause the Russian to spin on entry to The Loop, narrowly avoiding a collision with Roman Stanek before Lukas Dunner and Calan Williams collided on Wellington Straight to trigger a four lap safety car period. 

Once racing resumed on lap six, Zendeli and Viscaal locked horns throughout remainder of the race with Viscaal staying within one second of Zendeli throughout the last 15 laps.

Piastri meanwhile lost two positions at the end of lap six after trying a move on Lawson into Club, only to be forced wide but luckily avoided a puncture which ended Sargeant’s race when Das clipped his left rear on entry to Copse when trying an outside move on lap ten.  

Barnicoat soon retired one lap later from third with a fuel pump failure as he pulled over on exit of Stowe to cause a brief virtual safety car, with things quietening down until a dramatic final lap. 

Piastri dived up inside of Hughes at Village to take sixth with Vesti getting the switchback to follow through, as Viscaal further up got inside line on entry to Copse to take the lead from Zendeli. 

Zendeli however fought back round the outside of Stowe to lead into Vale but Viscaal got better traction to sweep around the outside of Club and snatch a maiden F3 victory by just 0.189s. 

Lawson challenged Pourchaire for third into Club but the Frenchman clung onto third after forcing the Aussie wide, costing Lawson as Beckmann pipped him to fourth by just 0.019s. 

Piastri finished sixth ahead of Hughes who had got passed Vesti for seventh, as Novalak and Fraga rounded out the points. 


Race Result

Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 20 40m 32.362
2 Lirim Zendeli Trident 20 + 0.189
3 Theo Pourchaire ART GP 20 + 8.395
4 David Beckmann Trident 20 + 8.829
5 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 20 + 8.848
6 Oscar Piastri Prema 20 + 9.226
7 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 20 + 10.742
8 Frederik Vesti Prema 20 + 10.966
9 Clement Novalak Carlin 20 + 11.501
10 Igor Fraga Charouz 20 + 22.833
11 Cameron Das Carlin 20 + 23.898
12 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP 20 + 23.937
13 Sebastian Fernandez ART GP 20 + 24.043
14 Aleksandr Smolyar ART GP 20 + 24.918
15 Roman Stanek Charouz 20 + 25.441
16 Matteo Nannini Jenzer 20 + 26.007
17 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 20 + 26.340
18 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 20 + 26.362
19 Sophia Floersch Campos 20 + 26.718
20 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP 20 + 27.176
21 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab 20 + 27.791
22 Oli Caldwell Trident 20 + 28.002
23 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer 20 + 28.132
24 Alex Peroni Campos 20 + 1m 00.615
25 Ben Barnicoat Carlin 10 Fuel Pump
26 Logan Sargeant Prema 10 Puncture
27 Alessio Deledda Campos 2 Damage
28 David Schumacher Charouz 1
29 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 0 Collision
30 Calan Williams Jenzer 0 Collision

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.