Yuki Tsunoda Gifted Silverstone Sprint Victory as Prema Collides

Yuki Tsunoda took a dramatic F2 Silverstone Sprint Race victory following a late collision between Prema's Robert Shwartzman and Mick Schumacher. (Image credit: Joe Portlock/Getty Images)

Carlin’s Yuki Tsunoda was gifted victory in F2’s Silverstone Sprint Race after the Prema duo of Robert Shwartzman and Mick Schumacher collided in the closing stages. 

Shwartzman had led Schumacher for much of race until his tyres began to fade as the German and Tsunoda rapidly closed in, with Schumacher trying an outside move into Brooklands on lap 19 only for Shwartzman to clip his left rear tyre. 

Shwartzman and Schumacher consequently drifted wide which allowed Tsunoda through to take victory ahead of the latter, who escaped the clash with no apparent damage to finish second. 

Speaking on his maiden F2 victory post race, Tsunoda said; “It was quite a tough race, and both of the Prema guys were really fast in the beginning. I could see that they were struggling towards the end so I saved the tyres as much as possible to prepare.”

Tsunoda however admitted that he “was a bit lucky for the overtake at Brooklands,” and was “happy to take a first [F2] win.”

Shwartzman’s front wing meanwhile was badly damaged and he slid down the field to concede third to Jack Aitken, who recorded his second third placed finish of the weekend ahead of Louis Deletraz and Guanyu Zhou. 

Callum Ilott, Dan Ticktum and Nikita Mazepin rounded out the points as Ilott extended his championship lead over Christian Lundgaard to 19 points, after the Dane suffered a front left tyre failure which consequently saw him finish a lap down in 21st position.

Formula 2 Championship - Round 5:Silverstone - Sprint Race
Robert Shwartzman led from pole position for much of the race. (Image credit: Rudy Carezzevoli/Getty Images)

Shwartzman got a clean start from Schumacher and Tsunoda as Aitken leapt up to fourth past a slow moving Deletraz, who then lost sixth to Lundgaard with an outside move at Luffield.

The top six soon settled in a consistent procession until lap eight when Lundgaard ran wide at Copse to allow Deletraz through into fifth. 

Further down the order, Charouz’s Pedro Piquet spun at Aintree on lap three after getting squeezed onto the kerbs by Roy Nissany. 

Ilott suffered a slow start to slip to ninth position but regained eighth when he passed Mazepin into Brooklands, despite touching mid corner when Mazepin moved under braking which allowed Ticktum to pass the Russian through Luffield. 

Further ahead on that same lap, Zhou produced a stunning pass on Lundgaard through Maggots and Becketts for sixth, as drivers begin to complain about rear tyre degradation on lap 11. 

Lundgaard ran wide in the opening sequence of corners on lap 16 to allow Ilott through to seventh, only for his front left tyre to fail when racing through Maggots and Becketts section and drop him out of the points. 

Schumacher meanwhile had reeled in Shwartzman who was struggling with his tyre wear, opting for an outside pass into Brooklands on lap 19 but the Russian cut across and both Prema teammates collided as Shwartzman damaged his front wing. 

Tsunoda swept through on the inside line to take the lead and eventual victory ahead of Schumacher, whilst Shwartzman slid down to a 13th placed finish as Aitken, Deletraz, Zhou, Ilott, Ticktum and Mazepin got past to complete the top eight finishers. 


Race Result

Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 21 36m 15.140
2 Mick Schumacher Prema 21 + 3.120
3 Jack Aitken Campos 21 + 17.993
4 Louis Deletraz Charouz 21 + 20.258
5 Guanyu Zhou Uni-Virtuosi 21 + 21.059
6 Callum Ilott Uni-Virtuosi 21 + 22.154
7 Dan Ticktum DAMS 21 +22.913
8 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP 21 + 25.201
9 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 21 + 28.672
10 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP 21 +29.066
11 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab 21 + 33.686
12 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 21 + 34.776
13 Robert Shwartzman Prema 21 + 36.362
14 Marcus Armstrong ART GP 21 + 37.995
15 Roy Nissany Trident 21 + 40.151
16 Pedro Piquet Charouz 21 + 43.748
17 Marino Sato Trident 21 + 47.202
18 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport 21 + 1m 00.275
19 Guilherme Samaia Campos 21 + 1m 01.710
20 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab 21 + 1m 31.548
21 Christian Lundgaard ART GP 20  + 1 Lap
22 Sean Gelael DAMS

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.