2020 FIA Formula Three Preview

As the 2020 FIA Formula Three season prepares to get underway, we bring you a season preview, featuring full details on teams and race calendar plus more. 

With several fresh young talented drivers joining the field, we bring you full details on who is driving for which team plus the current race calendar at time of writing. 

You can also discover which three drivers we are tipping to watch out for throughout this season, plus full details on our refreshed coverage plans which will see a marked contrast to that of 2019. 



Team Race Number Driver
Prema Racing 1 Oscar Piastri
2 Frederik Vesti
3 Logan Sargeant
Hitech Grand Prix 4 Max Fewtrell
5 Liam Lawson
6 Dennis Hauger
Art Grand Prix 7 Theo Pourchaire
8 Aleksandr Smolyar
9 Sebastian Fernandez
Trident 10 Lirim Zendeli
11 David Beckmann
12 Oli Caldwell
HWA Racelab 14 Enzo Fittipaldi
15 Jake Hughes
16 Jack Doohan
MP Motorsport 17 Richard Verschoor
18 Bent Viscaal
19 Lukas Dunner
Jenzer Motorsport 20 Calan Williams
21 Federico Malvestiti
22 Matteo Nannini
Charouz Racing System 23 Roman Stanek
24 Igor Fraga
25 David Schumacher
Carlin 26 Clement Novalak
27 Enaam Ahmed
28 Cameron Das
Campos 29 Alex Peroni
30 Alessio Deledda
31 Sophia Florsch

Joining F3

  • Oscar Piastri steps up into F3 with Prema as 2019 Formula Renault Eurocup champion as he joins Prema. 
  • Frederik Vesti remains with Prema as he graduates into F3 as 2019 Formula Regional European Champion.
  • Dennis Hauger joins Hitech Grand Prix after winning the 2019 Italian F4 title and finishing runner-up in the 2019 ADAC Formula Four championship. 
  • Theo Pourchaire joins ART Grand Prix as he graduates into F3 as the 2019 ADAC F4 champion. 
  • Aleksandr Smolyar graduates into F3 after finishing third in 2019 Formula Renault Eurocup, joining ART Grand Prix. 
  • Oli Caldwell graduates into F3 with Trident after finishing fifth in last season’s Formula Regional European Championship. 
  • Enzo Fittipaldi graduates into F3 with HWA Racelab after finishing as vice champion in 2019 Formula Regional European Championship.
  • Jack Doohan steps up to F3 after finishing as vice champion in 2019-20 F3 Asian Series, joining HWA Racelab.
  • Lukas Dunner has signed for MP Motorsport after finishing third in 2019 Euroformula Open Championship.
  • Calan Williams graduates into F3 with Jenzer Motorsport after finishing 13th in 2019 Euroformula Open Championship. 
  • Federico Malvestiti joins Jenzer Motorsport for a full F3 rookie season, having previously contested the Silverstone round in 2019 for the same team. 
  • Matteo Nannini graduates into F3 with Jenzer Motorsport after winning 2014 F4 UAE Championship. 
  • Igor Fraga joins Charouz Racing System as the reigning 2020 Toyota Series Champion, having finished third in 2019 Formula Regional European Championship. 
  • Clement Novalak joins Carlin as he graduates into F3 as the 2019 British F3 champion
  • Enaam Ahmed steps up into F3 with Carlin after finishing third in 2019 Japanese F3 season.
  • Cameron Das completes Carlin line-up after finishing seventh in 2019 Toyota Racing Series.
  • Sophia Florsch completes Campos’ line-up after finishing seventh in 2019 Formula Regional European Championship. 


Driver Changes

  • Max Fewtrell left ART Grand Prix to join Hitech Grand Prix. 
  • David Beckmann departed ART Grand Prix to re-join Trident of whom he raced with during latter half of 2018 GP3 season.
  • Liam Lawson left MP Motorsport to join Hitech Grand Prix. 
  • Lirim Zendeli departed Sauber Junior Team to move to Trident. 
  • Bent Viscaal switched from HWA Racelab to MP Motorsport. 
  • Niko Kari departed Trident to join Charouz Racing System. 
  • David Schumacher raced with Campos in final round of 2019 F3 season, but switches to Charouz Racing System for a full rookie campaign. 
  • Sebastian Fernandez departed Campos to join ART Grand Prix. 
  • Logan Sargeant switched from Carlin to Prema Racing. 


Leaving F3

  • Last season’s top three of Robert Shwartzman, Marcus Armstrong and Jehan Daruvala all departed F3 to graduate into F2, joining Prema, ART and Carlin respectively.
  • Juri Vips left Hitech Grand Prix to join Super Formula, where he races for Team Mugen.
  • Pedro Piquet left Trident  and F3 to graduate into F2, where he will race for Charouz.
  • Christian Lundgaard left F3 as he graduates into F2 but stays with ART Grand Prix.
  • Leonardo Pulcini departed F3 for the 2020 International GT Open series.
  • Yuki Tsunoda left Jenzer Motorsport to graduate into F2 with Carlin.
  • Felipe Drugovich departed Carlin and F3 to graduate into F2 with MP Motorsport.
  • Fabio Scherer left Sauber Junior Team and F3 to switch to DTM.
  • Ye Yifei departed Hitech Grand Prix and F3 to switch to 2020 EuroFormula Open with Motopark.
  • Teppei Natori departed F3 to race in Super Formula Lights with Toda Racing.
  • Devlin De Francesco was initially set to drive for Trident in 2020 season, before withdrawing his entry for unexplained reasons during the Coronavirus pandemic.
  • Andreas Estner switched from Jenzer Motorsport and F3 to race for Van Amersfoort Racing in EuroFormula Open.
  • Keyvan Andres, Raoul Hyman and Simo Laaksonen all left the series with their 2020 race plans unclear. 
  • Niko Kari departed Charouz Racing System just days before the season began, and was replaced by Roman Stanek.



Due to the Coronavirus pandemic forcing cancellation of initial 2020 race calendar, Formula Three will currently run a eight round schedule with further rounds set to be added in due course. 

Round Circuit Race One Race Two
1 Red Bull Ring, Spielberg (Austria) 4 July  5 July
2 11 July 12 July
3 Hungaroring, Mogyorod (Hungary) 18 July 19 July
4 Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone (United Kingdom) 1 August 2 August
5 8 August 9 August
6 Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Montmelo (Spain) 15 August 16 August
7 Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Stavelot (Belgium) 29 August 30 August
8 Autodromo Nazionale di Monza, Monza (Italy 5 September 6 September


Three Must Watch Drivers

  • Jake Hughes – Highest placed returnee from 2019 F3 season who should be looking to challenge for the title this season.
  • David Beckmann – Back with Trident where he enjoyed great success in second half of 2018 GP3 season, so will be hoping to rediscover that spark to push for title. 
  • Theo Pourchaire – One of youngest drivers on grid at age of 16 years-old who has won titles in both of his first two single-seater seasons, so expect to see Pourchaire challenging towards the front throughout this season. 


Coverage Details

Last season saw us focus solely on Twitter commentary of F3 Qualifying plus races but this year will see us switch to race reports, although Friday reports will instead see a full roundup of both practice and qualifying. 

We will also still be active on social media bringing you full results of all four sessions throughout each race weekend, in place of our discontinued race commentary. 

Now let enjoy the 2020 F3 season. 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.