Rob Page Names Wales Squad For 2022 FIFA World Cup

(Image credit:

Adam Davies, Tom Lockyer, Harry Wilson and Aaron Ramsey have earned recalls for Wales’ squad at 2022 FIFA World Cup.

In goal, Salford City’s Tom King has been snubbed as manager, Rob Page opted to recall Sheffield United’s Adam Davies to provide an experienced goalkeeping line-up alongside; Danny Ward and Wayne Hennessey.

In defence, Tom Lockyer has earned a surprise recall as Rhys Norrington-Davies is left out due to a hamstring injury.

Harry Wilson is back in the squad after he missed September’s UEFA Nations League fixtures with a knee injury, replacing his fellow Fulham teammate – Luke Harris who has been snubbed from the final squad.

Ipswich’s Wes Burns also misses out in midfield as Aaron Ramsey also returns to the team for the World Cup, whilst Bournemouth’s David Brooks remains absent as he continues to focus on his fitness rebuild following a Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma battle last season.

Up front, Tyler Roberts has been left out due to a calf injury which has prevented him playing for QPR since mid-October.

Rabbi Matondo meanwhile has been snubbed after he has failed to impress for Rangers this season.

Page’s Welsh Dragons will commence their Group B campaign against USA on 21 November (7pm UK Time) live on ITV for UK audiences, before hosting Iran in their second group match on Friday 25 November (10am UK Time) on BBC1.

BBC1 will then broadcast Wales’ final group clash against England in a potential crunch Battle of Britain showdown on Tuesday 29 November, with kick-off confirmed for 7pm UK Time.

Goalkeepers: Wayne Hennessey (Nottingham Forest), Danny Ward (Leicester City), Adam Davies (Sheffield United)

Defence: Ben Davies (Tottenham Hotspur), Ben Cabango (Swansea City), Tom Lockyer (Luton), Joe Rondon (Rennes – on loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Chris Mepham (Bournemouth), Ethan Ampadu (Spezia on loan from Chelsea), Chris Gunter (AFC Wimbledon), Neco Williams (Nottingham Forest), Connor Roberts (Burnley),

Midfield: Sorba Thomas (Huddersfield), Joe Allen (Swansea City), Matt Smith (MK Dons), Dylan Levitt (Dundee United), Harry Wilson (Fulham), Joe Morrell (Portsmouth), Jonny Williams (Swindon Town), Aaron Ramsey (Nice), Rubin Colwill (Cardiff),

Forward: Gareth Bale (Los Angeles), Kieffer Moore (Bournemouth), Mark Harris (Cardiff), Brennan Johnson (Nottingham Forest), Dan James (Fulham)

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Tom Lockyer Signs New Contract at Luton – Sport Grill

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.