Home Nations Discover 2022-23 UEFA Nations League Paths

(Image credit: @England)

England will take on two familiar enemies in the Group Stage of 2022-23 UEFA Nations League as all five home nations discovered their Nations League paths.

Gareth Southgate’s Three Lions are playing in League A of this competition for a third straight edition where they have been drawn in Group 3, against two familiar enemies as they face Euro 2020 winners – Italy, alongside fierce foes in Germany as Hungary round out that group.

Wales will make their League A debut in Group 4 where they face Belgium, Netherlands and Poland in a tough group.

Elsewhere in League A, neighbours – Spain and Portugal were drawn together in Group 2 alongside Switzerland and Czech Republic.

Reigning champions – France meanwhile are in Group 1 alongside Denmark, Croatia and Austria.

Scotland and Republic of Ireland are participating in League B where they have been drawn together in Group 1 alongside Ukraine and Armenia, which marks the first time that the two home nations will meet since June 2015 in UEFA Euro 2016 Qualifying.

There are two Relegation Play-Offs from Leagues C & D to be played with the winner of Cyprus’ Relegation Play-Off against Estonia joining Northern Ireland, Greece and Kosovo in League C in Group 2, whilst the loser drops to League D in Group 2 alongside San Marino and Malta.

The winner of Kazakhstan’s Relegation Play-Off tie against Moldova will play in League C Group 3 with Slovakia, Belarus and Azerbaijan, as the loser joins League D Group 1 alongsideĀ Latvia, Andorra and Liechtenstein.

As part of a seasonal-calendar rejig to accommodate 2022 FIFA World Cup next November, the first four matches in the Group Stage will be held between 2-14 June with the final two group matches held between 22-27 September.

The League A Semi-Finals involving all four group winners will be held on 13 and 14 June 2023, with Third Place Play-Off and Grand Final scheduled for 18 June 2023.

Full details of each group across all four leagues can be found below.

League A

Group A1 Group A2 Group A3 Group A4
France Spain Italy Belgium
Denmark Portugal Germany Netherlands
Croatia Switzerland England Poland
Austria Czech Republic Hungary Wales


League B

Group B1 Group B2 Group B3 Group B4
Ukraine Iceland Bosnia & Herzegovina Sweden
Scotland Russia Finland Norway
Republic of Ireland Israel Romania Serbia
Armenia Albania Montenegro Slovenia


League C

Group C1 Group C2 Group C3 Group C4
Turkey Northern Ireland Slovakia Bulgaria
Luxembourg Greece Belarus North Macedonia
Lithuania Kosovo Azerbaijan Georgia
Faroe Islands Cyrus/Estonia Kazakhstan/Moldova Gibraltar


League D

Group D1 Group D2
Latvia San Marino
Andorra Cyprus/Estonia
Kazakhstan/Moldova Malta

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.