Guide To UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 Draw

With the UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 draw drawing ever closer, here is a guide to everything that you need to know ahead of the draw. 

England automatically qualified as host nation and will feature amongst 16 nations battling to be crowned as European champions of women’s football.

Title holders, Netherlands also features in the draw alongside popular teams like Germany, France, Sweden, Spain and surprise 2017 semi-finalists, Austria.

Northern Ireland meanwhile are set for their first-ever major tournament within women’s football as they make their debut in this competition, having shocked Ukraine 4-1 on aggregate to win their Qualifying Play-Off tie.

Now, here is a full guide to the UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 draw.


When is the draw for UEFA Women’s Euro 2022?

The draw for next summer’s UEFA Women’s Euros will take place on Thursday 28 October 2021 in Greater Manchester from 5pm UK Time (6:00pm CET).


Where Can You Watch The Draw?

UEFA have confirmed that the draw will be streamed live on their website with the following countries across Europe also broadcasting live coverage;

Country Channel
Austria ORF
Belgium VRT, RTBF
Bosnia & Herzegovina BHRT
Estonia ERR
Finland Yle
France Canal+
Germany ARD, ZDF
Hungary MTVA
Iceland RUV
Italy RAI
Netherlands NOS
Norway NRK, TV 2 Norway
Poland TVP
Republic of Ireland RTE
Russia Match TV
Spain TVE
Sweden SVT
Switzerland SRG

The following non-European countries have also elected to broadcast live coverage of the draw;

  • Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka – SonySix
  • Aruba, Bonaire, St Maarten – Nos
  • Australia – Optus Sport
  • PR China – Super Sports Shankai

Several countries based across the Americas continent will receive live coverage on ESPN including; Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Dominica, Falkland Islands, French Guyana, Granada, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Monterrat, Nevis, St Barts, St Christopher, St Kitts, St Lucia, St Martin, St Pierre & Miquelon, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Surinam, Tortola, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Islands:

Fans based in USA alongside with American Samoa, Guadeloupe, Guam, Marina Islands, Midway, Puerto Rico and US Virgin Islands will have a choice of live coverage across ESPN and TUDN.


How Will The Draw Unfold?

As host nation of UEFA Women’s Euro 2022, England have automatically been assigned Group A as the top seed, with the other 15 qualified nations ranked on basis of national team coefficient rankings and split into four seeding pot.

Pot One will contain just three teams consisting of; Netherlands (title holders), Germany and France, due to England’s automatic placement of A1 in Group A, with each of those three teams automatically assigned in alphabetical order to one of Groups B, C & D once drawn.

Pots Two to Four will also follow the alphabetical order but in order to determine their position in the group (A2, A3, A4 for example), there will be a draw from Pot A and so on for Pots B, C & D too

All four groups will contain one team from each seeding pot with the following teams allocated to each seeding pot.

Pot 1 Pot 2 Pot 3 Pot 4
England* Sweden Denmark Iceland
Netherlands Spain Belgium Russia
Germany Norway Switzerland Finland
France Italy Austria Northern Ireland

*England have already been assigned A1 in Group A by virtue of being the host nation.

Who is conducting the draw?

With BBC confirmed as host broadcaster of the tournament, BBC presenter, Gabby Logan and ex England international, Alex Scott will co-host the draw.

Three-time UEFA Women’s Euro winner with Germany, Anja Mittag headline the names conducting the draw alongside France’s Camille Abily, Sweden’s all-time top goalscorer – Lotta Schelin, England’s Kelly Smith and current Premier League footballers.


When Will UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 Take Place?

Once the draw is completed, it is a waiting game with UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 confirmed as taking place from Wednesday 6 July to Sunday 31 July, with the opening match held at Old Trafford in Manchester on 6 July with Wembley Stadium in London hosting the Final on 31 July to close the tournament.

Other match venues include;

  • Brighton & Hove Community Stadium (Brighton)
  • Brentford Community Stadium (London)
  • Manchester City Academy Stadium (Manchester)
  • Stadium MK (Milton Keynes)
  • New York Stadium (Rotherham)
  • Bramall Lane (Sheffield)
  • St Mary’s Stadium (Southampton)
  • Leigh Sport Village (Wigan)

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Guide To UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 Draw - Arab News

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.