Logan Sargeant Wins 2021 F3 Russian Race One As Dennis Hauger Crowned Champion

(Image credit: @FIAFormula3)

Charouz claimed their maiden F3 victory in 53 attempts as Logan Sargeant won 2021 Russian Race One, whilst PREMA’S Dennis Hauger was crowned champion after finishing second.

Sargeant snatched the lead into Turn Four with an outside move on pole-sitter, Victor Martins and sprinted away to a controlled victory from Hauger, who passed Jak Crawford and Martins to finish as runner-up.

Hauger’s consequential 51-point championship lead also meant that he was crowned champion after Jack Doohan could only finish 15th, which meant that the Aussie couldn’t mathematically snatch the title with two races left of this season.

Martins finished third ahead of Clement Novalak, Caio Collet, Lorenzo Colombo, Arthur Leclerc, Frederik Vesti, Juan Manuel Correa and Ayumu Iwasa.

Attention in the driver standings now turns to the battle for the vice-champion title as Novalak moved to within 22 points of Doohan with two races left, whilst Martins has an outside chance of finishing runner-up himself despite sitting five points further behind Novalak.

Embed from Getty Images

At lights out, Martins made a great start to block Sargeant but the American stood firm and managed to out drag Martins into Turn Four to take the lead, from which he never looked back unchallenged as he delivered Charouz their first-ever F3 win in their 53rd race in the series.

Hauger meanwhile retained fourth whilst his title rival, Doohan got squeezed on the exit of Turn Two over the kerbs which dropped him to 17th, which was enough for Hauger to win the title at that point of the race.

Doohan ultimately could only recover to 15th whilst Hauger passed Crawford on Lap Four into Turn 13 before biding his time behind Martins, until he got the inside line out of Turn Two on Lap 11 and swept past the Frenchman through Turn Three to take second.

Hauger soon set about hunting Sargeant down but couldn’t get past last year’s third-placed championship finisher, as Sargeant prevailed for his third win in F3, which also represented Charouz’s first win at this level since the current F3 championship began in 2019.

Elsewhere, Crawford dropped to 11th as Novalak fought his way from 11th on the grid to finish fourth ahead of Collet and Colombo, as Leclerc finished seventh after a race-long fight with Frederik Vesti and Juan Manuel Correa as Iwasa rounded out the top ten finishers.

Jenzer’s Johnathan Hoggard meanwhile finished 12th and claimed reverse-pole for Race Two which is set to be held in wet conditions, such is the forecast for torrential rainfall tomorrow (25 September).

Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Logan Sargeant Charouz 20 39m 23.780
2 Dennis Hauger PREMA 20 + 0.649
3 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 20 + 3.466
4 Clement Novalak Trident 20 + 4.597
5 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 20 + 5.424
6 Lorenzo Colombo Campos 20 + 11.632
7 Arthur Leclerc PREMA 20 + 14.514
8 Frederik Vesti ART GP 20 + 17.589
9 Juan Manuel Correa ART GP 20 + 18.138
10 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 20 + 22.891
11 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 20 + 23.487
12 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer 20 + 23.979
13 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 20 + 24.494
14 David Schumacher Trident 20 + 24.963
15 Jack Doohan Trident 20 + 25.350
16 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 20 + 29.856
17 Olli Caldwell Prema 20 + 31.005
18 Jonny Edgar Carlin 20 + 35.572
19 Calan Williams Jenzer 20 + 36.277
20 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 20 + 38.366
21 Amaury Cordeel Campos 20 + 41.146
22 Aleksandr Smolyar ART GP 20 + 50.032
23 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 20 + 53.354
24 Ayrton Simmons Charouz 20 + 56.692
25 Filip Ugran Jenzer 20 + 57.449
26 Zdenek Chovanec Charouz 20 + 1m 33.501
27 Ido Cohen Carlin 19 + 1 Lap
28 Tijmen Van Der Helm MP Motorsport 15 Engine
29 Laszlo Toth Campos 1 Collision
RET Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1 Collision

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Logan Sargeant Wins 2021 F3 Russian Race One As Dennis Hauger Crowned Champion - Arab News

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.