Dennis Hauger Extends F3 Title Lead With Dominant 2021 Dutch Race Three Victory

(Image credit: @FIAFormula3)

PREMA’s Dennis Hauger extended his title lead over Jack Doohan after taking a dominant victory at 2021 Dutch Race Three in Zandvoort, Netherlands.

Hauger led from lights out to the checkered flag unchallenged as he claimed a Grand Chelem of pole, led every lap, win and fastest lap.

Clement Novalak benefitted from a late collision between David Schumacher and Victor Martins at Hugenholtzboch on Lap 22, as the Frenchman finished second ahead of Aleksandr Smolyar who inherited third after Martins dropped to tenth after being handed a 10 second time penalty for causing the incident.

Jack Doohan recovered from a slow start to finish fourth ahead of Caio Collet, Logan Sargeant, Jak Crawford, Frederik Vesti and Arthur Leclerc who rounded out the top nine.

In the driver standings, Hauger increased his lead over Doohan to 43 points ahead of the final round, which will now take place in Sochi, Russia, from 24-26 September after ‘unavoidable’ logistical issues forced the cancellation of the USA round in late October.

Novalak meanwhile climbed to third after benefitting massively from Martins’ mistake both on track and in the championship standings, as Martins sits fourth on countback from Vesti as the pair sit on 117 points apiece.

Embed from Getty Images

Hauger made a clean start to lead Schumacher and Martins as Doohan lost two positions in the opening three corners to Novalak and Smolyar who improved three positions on the start, as the top six ultimately settled in their positions for majority of the race.

Further back, Collet lost three positions at the start to fall behind Crawford and Sargeant to ninth, yet quickly recovered to eighth with a move on Sargeant at the start of Lap Two before pouncing on Crawford into Tarzanbocht on Lap 12 with Sargeant following through six laps later.

Martins’ race-long pursuit of Schumacher came to a head three laps from the finish as the Frenchman got an inside move into Hugenholtzboch wrong, drifting wide mid-corner and sent Schumacher spinning sideways into the barriers as Novalak benefitted from this incident to finish second.

Stewards consequently handed Martins a 10s time penalty which dropped him to tenth at the flag after finishing third on the road, as Smolyar inherited the final podium place ahead of Doohan as the Aussie faces a huge deficit to overturn in Sochi if he is to win the title..

Further back, Juan Manuel Correa was caught up in two separate incidents as he locked up into Tarzanbocht on Lap 20, sending Matteo Nannini wide into the gravel before he then shunted Tijmen Van Der Helm into the barriers at Hugenholtzboch on the final lap.

Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Dennis Hauger PREMA 24 35m 47.901
2 Clement Novalak Trident 24 + 5.387
3 Aleksandr Smolyar ART GP 24 + 6.961
4 Jack Doohan Trident 24 + 7.184
5 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 24 + 8.705
6 Logan Sargeant Charouz 24 + 12.016
7 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 24 + 13.093
8 Frederik Vesti ART GP 24 + 14.007
9 Arthur Leclerc PREMA 24 + 14.643
10 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 24 + 15.805
11 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech 24 + 21.738
12 Amaury Cordeel Campos 24 + 22.896
13 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 24 + 27.284
14 Olli Caldwell PREMA 24 + 27.331
15 Jonny Edgar Carlin 24 + 28.350
16 Ido Cohen Carlin 24 + 29.809
17 Lorenzo Colombo Campos 24 + 30.437
18 Calan Williams Jenzer 24 + 36.957
19 Filip Ugran Jenzer 24 + 39.730
20 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer 24 + 39.876
21 Juan Manuel Correa ART GP 24 + 48.318
22 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 24 + 48.500
23 Hunter Yeany Charouz 24 + 49.085
24 Zdenek Chovanec Charouz 24 + 50.627
25 Laszlo Toth Campos 24 + 52.757
26 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 24 + 53.010
27 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 24 + 58.074
28 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 24 + 1m 25.810
29 Tijmen Van Der Helm MP Motorsport 23 Collision
30 David Schumacher Trident 21 Collision

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Dennis Hauger Extends F3 Title Lead With Dominant 2021 Dutch Race Three Victory - Arab News

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.