Arthur Leclerc Wins 2021 Dutch F3 Race One

(Image credit: @FIAFormula3)

Prema’s Arthur Leclerc dominated Formula Three’s 50th race of modern era to take victory at 2021 Dutch Race One in Zandvoort, Netherlands.

Leclerc made a clean start to sweep around the outside of Tarzanbocht to leap from third to first and proceeded to fend off Logan Sargeant, Ayumu Iwasa, Jak Crawford and Caio Collet throughout the race.

Jack Doohan benefitted from a collision between pole-sitter, Amaury Cordeel and Aleksandr Smolyar to finish sixth, ahead of title rival – Dennis Hauger who recovered from a trip across the gravel trap on Lap 14 to finish seventh at the flag.

Victor Martins, Frederik Vesti and Olli Caldwell rounded out the top ten finishers ahead of Clement Novalak and Ido Cohen, with the Israelian driver clinching reverse-pole for Race Two.

In the driver standings, Hauger’s lead over Doohan was reduced slightly to 28 points as Vesti remains third ahead of Victor Martins.

Embed from Getty Images

At lights out, Cordeel got a clean start but was usurped by the fast-starting Sargeant and Leclerc, as the latter went to the outside to climb from third to first ahead of Sargeant who took the inside line through the opening corner.

Cordeel soon afterwards was collected on the exit of Hugenholtzboch by Smolyar to send the Belgian spinning down the order, whilst Smolyar was punished with a 10 second time penalty as he pitted at end of lap five for a front wing change due to damage.

Up front, Leclerc continuously fended off Sargeant throughout the race with the closest margin clocking in at 0.107s at the start of Lap 15, just moments after Hauger had fell to ninth after a mistimed move on Novalak into Hans Ernst Bocht on the previous lap.

Johnathan Hoggard and Hunter Yeany then brought the racing to a brief halt as Yeany nudged Hoggard off into the barriers at Tarzanbocht at the start of Lap 16, causing a five lap Safety Car after he himself suffered a puncture in the collision and crashed.

Upon the restart, Leclerc backed Sargeant up into the pack and sprinted away to his second race victory of the season, as the American fended off Iwasa for second with the Japanese youngster thus forced to edge out Hitech teammate – Crawford for third and the final podium spot.

Novalak made a poor restart and dropped from eighth to 11th as Hauger overtook him and Martins to finish seventh, with Hauger in turn limiting his points deficit to Doohan in this race to a single point as he now holds a 28 point lead with five races left this season.

Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Arthur Leclerc PREMA 24 39m 02.034
2 Logan Sargeant Charouz 24 + 0.945
3 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 24 + 1.555
4 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 24 + 2.479
5 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 24 + 2.789
6 Jack Doohan Trident 24 + 3.035
7 Dennis Hauger PREMA 24 + 3.807
8 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 24 + 4.324
9 Frederik Vesti ART GP 24 + 7.094
10 Olli Caldwell PREMA 24 + 7.370
11 Clement Novalak Trident 24 + 8.193
12 Ido Cohen Carlin 24 + 8.570
13 Lorenzo Colombo Campos 24 + 9.172
14 David Schumacher Trident 24 + 9.715
15 Filip Ugran Jenzer 24 + 10.408
16 Calan Williams Jenzer 24 + 10.566
17 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 24 + 11.331
18 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 24 + 12.948
19 Jonny Edgar Carlin 24 + 13.031
20 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 24 + 13.373
21 Tijmen Van Der Helm MP Motorsport 24 + 14.001
22 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 24 + 14.527
23 Amaury Cordeel Campos 24 + 15.403
24 Aleksandr Smolyar ART GP 24 + 15.633
25 Laszlo Toth Campos 24 + 17.072
26 Zdenek Chovanec Charouz 24 + 18.820
27 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 24 + 18.993
28 Juan Manuel Correa ART GP 24 + 58.066
RET Hunter Yeany Charouz 15 Collision
RET Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer 15 Crash

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Arthur Leclerc Wins 2021 Dutch F3 Race One - Arab News
  2. PREMA and DAMS Complete 2022 F2 Driver Line-up – Sport Grill

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.