Jack Doohan Clinches Dominant Victory In 2021 Belgian Race Two To Cut Championship Deficit

Trident’s Jack Doohan dominated the 2021 Belgian Race Two to cut his championship deficit to Dennis Hauger to 46 points. 

Doohan made a clean start to lead David Schumacher and Logan Sargeant as the top seven settled into a controlled pattern ahead of Aleksandr Smolyar who dropped to eighth ahead of Johnathan Hoggard who got spun by Arthur Leclerc on lap four to ruin his chances of points.

The Safety Car was deployed on lap 11 after marshals struggled to clear Matteo Nannini’s HWA Racelab after the Italian stalled following a spin, but Amaury Cordeel and Calan Williams collided at the top of Raidillon to cause a Safety Car finish as Doohan took victory.

In the driver standings, Hauger’s lead over Doohan is now down to 46 points as Vesti consolidated third on 93 points, seven points clear of fourth-placed Olli Caldwell who could only finish this race in 15th place.

Embed from Getty Images

Following a hour delay due to F1 Qualifying overrunning following a mixture of rain delay and red flag which in turn delayed W Series’ race, Doohan made a clean start at lights out ahead of Schumacher as Sargeant climbed to third ahead of Collet.

Novalak, Vesti and Martins found themselves fifth, sixth and seventh as Smolyar dropped to eighth after a slow start, coupled with a squeeze from Sargeant on exit of La Source as he tried to reclaim third.

The top eight consequently settled into a disciplined order whilst Hoggard was spun out on inside of Pouhon by Leclerc on lap four, which promoted the Monegasque to ninth as Hauger moved up to tenth.

At the end of lap nine, Nannini was tagged by Hunter Yeany who had snuck up his inside through the Bus Stop Chicane, sending the Italian into a race-ending spin as he stalled his HWA Racelab which caused a Safety Car was deployed after marshals struggled to move his car which blocked the pit entry.

Racing resumed on lap 14 in wet conditions after heavy rain returned during the Safety Car, with Doohan leading as the top eight held position with Hauger overtaking Leclerc into Eau Rouge for ninth.

Further behind the front runners, Amaury Cordeel spun at top of Raidillon and caused a melee in which Calan Williams hit the Campos and slammed into the barriers to cause a second Safety Car, as both Cordeel and Williams walked away without injury.

The race ultimately finished under the Safety Car as Doohan took the checkered flag for his second victory of this season.

Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Jack Doohan Trident 16 45m 11.332
2 David Schumacher Trident 16 + 0.488
3 Logan Sargeant Charouz 16 + 1.093
4 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 16 + 1.965
5 Clement Novalak Trident 16 + 2.780
6 Frederik Vesti ART GP 16 + 3.049
7 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 16 + 3.580
8 Aleksandr Smolyar ART GP 16 + 4.330
9 Dennis Hauger PREMA 16 + 4.946
10 Arthur Leclerc PREMA 16 + 6.459
11 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 16 + 7.194
12 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 16 + 7.546
13 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 16 + 8.988
14 Lorenzo Colombo Campos 16 + 9.690
15 Olli Caldwell PREMA 16 + 10.756
16 Tijmen Van Der Helm MP Motorsport 16 + 11.488
17 Jonny Edgar Carlin 16 + 12.457
18 Juan Manuel Correa ART GP 16 + 13.638
19 Filip Ugran Jenzer 16 + 14.086
20 Ido Cohen Carlin 16 + 14.956
21 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 16 + 15.881
22 Laszlo Toth Campos 16 + 16.286
23 Zdenek Chovanec Charouz 16 + 17.045
24 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 16 + 17.404
25 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer 16 + 19.666
26 Hunter Yeany Charouz 16 + 23;279
RET Calan Williams Jenzer 13 Collision
RET Amaury Cordeel Campos 13 Collision
RET Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 8 Spin

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.