Gareth Southgate Hands Patrick Bamford a Maiden Call-up For England Squad For September’s World Cup Qualifiers

Gareth Southgate has named a 25-man squad for England’s 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers against Hungary, Andorra and Poland in September, as Patrick Bamford receives his first international call-up.

Bamford’s call-up comes after a strong start to the season for Leeds despite failing to score yet, as he replaces Phil Foden after a foot injury ruled the Manchester City youngster out of England’s defeat to Italy in Euro 2020 Final.

Mason Greenwood meanwhile returns after withdrawing from selection for Euro 2020 due to injury and replaces Manchester United teammate – Marcus Rashford, who is recovering from a shoulder injury.

Dean Henderson misses out in goal after injury forced him to withdraw from this summer’s Euro 2020 squad, with a subsequent battle with Coronavirus leaving him struggling for match fitness in recent weeks for Manchester United.

Burnley’s Nick Pope consequently has earned a recall after a knee injury forced him to sit out the Euros, whilst West Brom’s Sam Johnstone retain his spot ahead of Arsenal’s Aaron Ramsdale who is snubbed after recently making the move from Sheffield United to Mikel Arteta’s Gunners.

Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold has also been recalled following his withdrawal from this summer’s Euros, having suffered a quad injury in their pre-tournament friendly win over Austria, as Ben Chilwell and Ben White drop out.

Chilwell is yet to play this season for Chelsea whilst White has failed to impress following his move to Arsenal this summer.

Jesse Lingard returns in midfield after being snubbed for the Euro 2020 finalised squad, despite featuring in the preliminary squad after impressive performances on loan at West Ham last season and made just one appearance this season for Man Utd.

England resume their 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers away against Hungary on Thursday 2 September (7:45pm BST) in Budapest, followed by a home clash against Andorra on Sunday 5 September (5pm BST) at Wembley before visiting Poland on Wednesday 8 September (7:45pm) in Warsaw.

Here is the 25-man squad in full.

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley), Sam Johnstone (West Brom)

Defence: Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Coady (Wolves), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), John Stones (Manchester City)

Midfield: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds United), Declan Rice (West Ham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United)

Forward: Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Patrick Bamford (Leeds United)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.