Premier League Confirm Punishment For Six Clubs Involved in ESL Breakaway Proposals

Premier League and English Football Association have confirmed details of the punishment for the six clubs who attempted to break away to form an European Super League in April.

Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham all jointly announced plans on 18 April 2021 to break away from the Premier League to join a new European Super League (ESL), only to do a U-turn after just 48 hours.

Discussions have since taken place concerning how best to punish all six clubs for their reckless plans with all associated teams now acknowledging that their breakaway attempt was ‘a mistake’, which triggered backlash from football fans around the continent as well as the English Football League.

Several of their fellow top-flight rivals like EvertonBurnley and Wolves also came out and publicly criticised their behaviour, with the Clarets in particular blasting the ‘weak governance’ of the sport as a whole.

All six rebel clubs have now ‘reconfirmed their commitment’ to both the Premier League and English Football as well as the sport’s domestic future, alongside full apologies to fans, fellow clubs, Premier League and FA.

Premier League has today (9 June) confirmed that all six clubs have agreed to make a contribution of £22million towards the sport, with the cash set to be spent on investment for fan support, grassroots football and community based programmes.

There will also be rule changes with support of all clubs which will see a mandatory 30-point deduction applied on top of an additional £25m fine, in the event that any of the six clubs attempt similar action in the future.

As to the future of the current investigation, both the Premier League and FA have decided that having ‘worked closely together throughout this process’, they both are happy that these agreements bring both investigations into the six individual clubs to a conclusion.

Here is the joint statement from Premier League and FA in full below.

The six clubs involved in proposals to form a European Super League have today acknowledged once again that their actions were a mistake, and have reconfirmed their commitment to the Premier League and the future of the English game. 

They have wholeheartedly apologised to their fans, fellow clubs, the Premier League and The FA. 

As a gesture of goodwill, the clubs have collectively agreed to make a contribution of £22million, which will go towards the good of the game, including new investment in support for fans, grassroots football and community programmes.

Furthermore, the clubs have agreed to support rule changes so that any similar actions in the future would lead to a 30-point deduction.

Each of the six clubs, in that event, would also be subject to an additional £25m fine.

The Premier League and The FA have worked closely together throughout this process and this agreement brings both investigations into the matter to a conclusion. 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.