Lucy Bronze Wins Big at 2020 FIFA Best Awards

Manchester City’s Lucy Bronze was crowned the Best Women’s Player of 2020 and selected in this year’s top Women’s world XI as FIFA honoured the stand-out stars of 2020. 

Having helped Lyon to a historical women’s quadruple in 2019-20 season, Bronze returned to England where she helped Manchester City clinch a third Women’s FA Cup in a pulsating final against Everton.

Bronze overall took five trophies home of which four came in this calendar year of 2020 alone for two different clubs, as she became the first English player to win one of the two main awards across both genders after finishing third at last year’s ceremony behind Alex Morgan and 2019 winner, Megan Rapinoe whilst also being named in the Women’s World XI of 2020.

Bronze also features in the Women’s World XI which also includes Chelsea’s Millie Bright, Manchester United’s Tobin Heath and Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema plus Rapinoe amongst other female players.

Liverpool also enjoyed a successful evening as Jurgen Klopp became the first manager to win the Best Coach award in two consecutive years, whilst Alisson, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil Van Dijk and Thiago Alcantara were all selected for the 2020 Men’s World Team XI.

Tottenham’s Son Heung-min picked up the Puskas Award for his solo goal against Burnley last December after coming top in a fan vote, seeing off tough competition from around the world including Dundalk’s Jordan Flores.

Elsewhere, Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski was voted as the Best Men’s Player of 2020 whilst his teammate, Manuel Neuer was crowned the World’s Best Goalkeeper.

Lewandowski also joined Alphonso Davies and Joshua Kimmich in the Men’s XI which also contains Kevin De Bruyne, Sergio Ramos, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Outgoing Netherlands Women manager, Sarina Wiegman took home the Best Women’s Coach prize ahead of her move to England to replace Phil Neville next summer.

Lyon’s Sarah Bouhaddi claimed the prize for Best Women’s Goalkeeper whilst Ospedaletti’s Mattia Agnese was awarded the Fair Play award for saving the life of a oppositional player who lost consciousness after a clash of heads.

Marivaldo Francisco Da Silva claimed the Best Fan Award after undertaking 11 hour walks to watch every home match of Brazil’s Sport Club do Recife.


List of 2020 FIFA Best Winners

FIFA Best Women’s Player – Lucy Bronze (Lyon/Manchester City)

FIFA Best Men’s Player – Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

FIFA Women Goalkeeper – Sarah Bouhaddi (Lyon)

FIFA Women Goalkeeper Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)

FIFA Puskas Goal – Son Heung Min (Tottenham Hotspur – vs Burnley, December 2019)

FIFA Women’s Coach – Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands)

FIFA Men’s Coach – Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

FIFA Fair Play – Mattia Agnese (Ospedaletti)

FIFA Fan Award – Marivaldo

Fifpro Women’s World XI – Christiane Endler (PSG), Lucy Bronze (Lyon/Manchester City), Wendie Renard (Lyon), Millie Bright (Chelsea), Barbara Bonansea (Juventus), Veronica Boquete (AC Milan), Tobin Heath (Manchester United), Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign), Delphine Cascarino (Lyon), Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg/Chelsea), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)

Fifpro Men’s World XI – Alisson (Liverpool), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Virgil Van Dijk (Liverpool), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich/Liverpool), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.