England 3-0 Republic of Ireland

Jude Bellingham made his senior England debut as the Three Lions ended a 35 wait to beat Republic of Ireland in a dominant 3-0 victory at Wembley.

Harry Maguire put the hosts in front with a sharp header in the 17th minute from Harry Winks’ dinking pass after the Tottenham midfielder met a poor clearance.

Jadon Sancho then added a second just 14 minutes later after bending across into the bottom right corner from Jack Grealish’ pass.

Dominic Calvert-Lewin then wrapped up victory in the 56th minute after smashing in from the penalty spot after Bukayo Saka was fouled.by Cyrus Christie.

Borussia Dortmund’s Jude Bellingham meanwhile made his senior debut for England at the age of 17 years and 136 days, making Bellingham the third youngest debutant for the Three Lions.

Embed from Getty Images

England made a bright start as Saka saw a fifth minute cross blocked out for a corner which was immediately blocked by Conor Hourihane for another delivery, which was headed over by Tyrone Mings from Sancho’s flicked pass.

Daryl Horgan soon threatened for Ireland in the ninth minute of which the first was intercepted before his following effort was allowed to roll across goal as nobody got a touch on the ball.

Darren Randolph then played a huge role in the buildup to the first goal when he flicked Reece James’ cross to Saka before blocking his shot, allowing Mason Mount to whip in a corner which was poorly cleared out to Winks who decided to dink the ball towards goal for Maguire to head in.

England then set about doubling their lead but Jack Grealish and Calvert-Lewin both saw shots blocked by Shane Duffy, with his second blockage causing a corner, from which Maguire nearly headed in his second but Randolph was alert to punch it over the bar to safety.

Sancho however made it 2-0 in the 31st minute when a corner was cleared to Winks and eventually worked to Grealish, with the Aston Villa star teeing up a pass to Sancho, who got into the box before bending across into the bottom right corner to double England’s lead.

Grealish soon afterwards set up crosses for Sancho then Mount only for both passes to eventually be blocked as the hosts went into half-time two goals up.

Grealish continued to cause trouble just four minutes into the second-half as he set up a pass which was flicked by Mings to Saka who fired just wide of the bottom left corner from mere yards out.

Embed from Getty Images

England eventually got their third just six minutes later after Christie hacked Saka to the ground just inside the box as Saka tried to meet a pass.

Calvert-Lewin calmly stepped up and smashed it into the top right corner as Randolph dived the wrong way, ultimately sealing victory.

Substitute, Ainsley Maitland-Niles saw a 62nd minute chipped shot go wide before Maguire and Michael Keane saw shots go wide in a scrappy final 30 minutes as several chances went begging.

Ireland’s best shot of the match came from Alan Browne who saw a 72nd minute shot blocked by Dean Henderson, who had come on at half-time for his England debut replacing Burnley’s Nick Pope who had started the match in goal.

England will now visit Belgium on Sunday 15 November (7:45pm GMT) in UEFA Nations League A, whilst Republic of Ireland head to Wales on the same date (5:00pm GMT).

England: Nick Pope (Henderson – 45), Michael Keane, Harry Maguire, Tyrone Mings (Maitland-Niles – 61), Reece James, Mason Mount (Bellingham – 73), Harry Winks, Bukayo Saka, Jadon Sancho, Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Abraham – 63), Jack Grealish.(Foden – 61)

Subs: Jordan Henderson, Declan Rice, Tammy Abraham, Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Jude Bellingham, Phil Foden, Harry Kane, Eric Dier, Ben Chilwell, Jordan Pickford, Dean Henderson

Republic of Ireland: Darren Randolph, Matt Doherty, Shane Duffy, John Egan (O’Shea – 14), Callum O’Dowda (McClean – 61), Cyrus Christie (Long – 61), Conor Hourihane (Molumby – 71), Jeff Hendrick, Daryl Horgan (Brady – 60), Adam Idah (Curtis – 71), Alan Browne

Subs: Mark Travers, Robbie Brady, James McClean, Kevin Long, Caoimhin Kelleher, James Collins, Sean Maguire, Dara O’Shea, Ronan Curtis, Jayson Molumby

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.