Conor Hazard Receives Northern Ireland Recall After Two-Year Absence for November Internationals

Conor Hazard has been recalled to Northern Ireland squad after a two-year absence. (Image credit: Jeff Holmes)

Ian Baraclough has named Celtic goalkeeper, Conor Hazard in his 26-man Northern Ireland squad for this month’s three international fixtures.

Hazard returns to the senior squad after a two-year absence following his debut in a 3-0 friendly loss to Costa Rica and will replace Motherwell’s Trevor Carson who is out with injury.

Baraclough has named the same defensive and striker selection as he did for October’s international fixtures. although he has had to make two changes in midfield.

Rangers’ Jordan Jones has been omitted from Baraclough’s midfield selection following a breach of Coronavirus protocols whilst back on club duty, meaning that Aberdeen’s Matthew Kennedy returns after missing last month’s games through injury.

Manchester United youngster, Ethan Galbraith meanwhile has been promoted from Northern Ireland U21s squad and replaces Oxford United’s Joel Cooper who also misses out.

St Johnstone’s Alistair McCann has retained his place after impressing during his maiden call-up last month despite failing to feature in any matches.

Northern Ireland will host Slovakia on Thursday 12 November 2020 in their Euro 2020 Qualifying Play-Off Final at Windsor Park, with the winner joining Spain, Poland and Sweden in Group E at next summer’s tournament.

Once the match against Slovakia is done, Northern Ireland then visit Austria (15 November) before hosting Romania (18 November) in League B1 of the UEFA Nations League, of which their final match against the Romanians could well be a relegation decider if the Tricolorii fails to open a four point gap over Ireland following their penultimate fixtures.

Here is a full list of Northern Ireland’s 26 man squad to face Slovakia, Austria and Romania;

Goalkeepers: Michael McGovern (Norwich), Bailey Peacock-Farrell (Burnley), Conor Hazard (Celtic)

Defence: Jonny Evans (Leicester), Craig Cathcart (Watford), Stuart Dallas (Leeds), Shane Ferguson (Millwall), Conor McLaughlin (Sunderland), Jamal Lewis (Newcastle), Michael Smith (Hearts), Tom Flanagan (Sunderland), Daniel Ballard (Arsenal)

Midfield: Steven Davis (Rangers), Niall McGinn (Aberdeen), Corry Evans (Blackburn Rovers), Paddy McNair (Middlesbrough), George Saville (Middlesbrough), Gavin Whyte (Cardiff), Jordan Thompson (Stoke City), Alistair McCann (St Johnstone), Matthew Kennedy (Aberdeen), Ethan Galbraith (Manchester United)

Forward: Kyle Lafferty (Reggina), Josh Magennis (Hull), Conor Washington (Charlton), Liam Boyce (Hearts)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.