Ian Baraclough Names 26-man Northern Ireland Squad for October Matches

Linfield's Shayne Lavery has been snubbed in a largely unchanged Northern Ireland squad for three October matches. (Image credit: Desmond Loughery/Pacemaker Press)

Northern Ireland manager, Ian Baraclough has named a largely unchanged team ahead of this month’s UEFA Euro Play-Off match against Bosnia plus Nations League matches against Austria and Norway. 

Barraclough has stuck with same goalkeeper selection and defence although he has recalled Sunderland’s Tom Flanagan, who had withdrawn from last month’s defensive selection for personal reasons.

Leicester’s Jonny Evans is also back in the squad after injury kept him out of last month’s winless games against Romania and Norway.

Aberdeen’s Matthew Kennedy however has been snubbed in midfield due to injury, with St Johnstone’s Alistair McCann selected in his place as nine other midfielders including; Middlesbrough duo – Paddy McNair and George Saville retain their places.

Up front, Linfield’s Shayne Lavery has been snubbed which indicates that Barraclough could be planning to play a single striker role in all three matches.

Northern Ireland begin their hectic run of three games in six days as they visit Bosnia & Herzegovina in their Euro 2020 Play-Off Semi-Final on 8 October 2020, with the winner set to host either Slovakia or Republic of Ireland in their Play-Off Final next month.

Barraclough’s team will then face Austria in Belfast three days later on 11 October before concluding their October set of games with a trip to Norway on 14 October.


Here is Northern Ireland’s full 26-man squad for Euro 2020 Play-Off Semi-Final against Bosnia & Herzegovina on 8 October before Nations League matches against Austria and Norway on 11 and 14 October respectively.

Goalkeepers: Michael McGovern (Norwich), Bailey Peacock-Farrell (Burnley), Trevor Carson (Motherwell)

Defence: Jonny Evans (Leicester), Craig Cathcart (Watford), Stuart Dallas (Leeds), Shane Ferguson (Millwall), Conor McLaughlin (Sunderland), Jamal Lewis (Newcastle), Michael Smith (Hearts), Tom Flanagan (Sunderland), Daniel Ballard (Arsenal)

Midfield: Steven Davis (Rangers), Niall McGinn (Aberdeen), Corry Evans (Blackburn Rovers), Paddy McNair (Middlesbrough), George Saville (Middlesbrough), Gavin Whyte (Cardiff), Jordan Jones (Rangers), Jordan Thompson (Stoke City), Alistair McCann (St Johnstone), Joel Cooper (Oxford United)

Forward: Kyle Lafferty (Reggina), Josh Magennis (Hull), Conor Washington (Charlton), Liam Boyce (Hearts)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.