Kevin De Bruyne Wins Big at 2020 PFA Awards

Kevin De Bruyne was the big winner of 2020 PFA Awards. (Image credit: Manchester City)

Kevin De Bruyne emerged as the big winner of the 2020 PFA Awards as he was not only voted the best men’s player but also featured in Premier League Team of the Year. 

De Bruyne had enjoyed an excellent season for Man City despite relinquishing the Premier League title to Liverpool, as the Belgian produced 20 assists to clinch the Playmaker of 2019-20 season award whilst contributing 13 goals of the Citizens’ 102 overall league goals.

De Bruyne also was included in the PFA Premier League Team of Year alongside David Silva in midfield, with the biggest surprise seeing Burnley’s Nick Pope voted as the top flight’s best goalkeeper ahead of various players including Alisson, Ederson and Dean Henderson.

Bethany England was voted as the Women’s PFA Player of the Year after scoring 14 goals in a curtailed WSL season, as she helped Chelsea win the title without losing a league match all campaign.

England however couldn’t stop Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema waltzing away with the Golden Boot for a second consecutive season, although both strikers were named in the PFA WSL Team of the Year alongside Chelsea defender, Millie Bright amongst others.

City’s Lauren Hemp meanwhile was voted as the Best Young Women’s player after scoring six goals in 23 appearances across four different competitions for City last season, including the final goal in a pulsating 3-3 home draw against title rivals, Chelsea in late February although the Blues eventually took the title on Points-Per-Game basis.

Liverpool’s Trent Alexander Arnold was voted as the Men’s Young Player of the Year after producing 13 assists, which was the highest amount by any Premier League defender since Antonio Valencia for Manchester United in 2011-12 season, although Utd failed to win the title that season after missing out to City on goal difference.

Marcus Rashford picked up the PFA Merit award for his work tackling child poverty during national lockdown, in which he managed to raise awareness of child poverty amongst working-class families who rely on free school meals to help feed their children and successfully forced an U-turn from the British Government to allow families to claim free school meal vouchers during the six-week summer holidays.

PFA also announced Championship, Leagues One and Two Teams of the Year, featuring new England international and Leeds midfielder, Kalvin Phillips amongst included players.


Full list of winners 

PFA Men’s Players’ Player of Year – Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

PFA Women’s Players’ Player of Year – Bethany England (Chelsea)

Men’s PFA Young Player of Year – Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

Women’s PFA Young Player of Year – Lauren Hemp (Manchester City)

PFA Merit Award – Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)

PFA Premier League Team of Year – Nick Pope (Burnley), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Virgil Van Dijk (Liverpool), Caglar Soyuncu (Leicester), Andrew Robertson (Liverpool), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), David Silva (Manchester City) Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal), Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

PFA WSL Team of Year – Ann-Katrin Berger (Chelsea), Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea), Leah Williamson (Arsenal), Millie Bright (Chelsea), Maren Mjelde (Chelsea), Caroline Weir (Manchester City), Kim Little (Arsenal), Ji So-Yun (Chelsea), Bethany England (Chelsea), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal), Chloe Kelly (Everton)

PFA Championship Team of Year – Brice Samba (Nottingham Forest), Luke Ayling (Leeds United), Ben White (Leeds United), Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Joe Bryan (Fulham, Eberechi Eze (QPR), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds United), Romaine Sawyers (West Brom), Aleksandar Mitrovic (Fulham), Ollie Watkins (Brentford), Said Benrahma (Brentford)

PFA League One Team of Year – Marko Marosi (Coventry City), Fankaty Dabo (Coventry City), Michael Ihiewke (Rotherham), Robert Dickie (Oxford United), Joe Jacobson (Wycombe Wanderers), Cameron Brannagan (Oxford United), Liam Walsh (Coventry City), Matt Crooks (Rotherham), Armand Gnanduillet (Blackpool), Ivan Toney (Peterborough United), Matt Godden (Coventry City)

PFA League Two Team of Year – Alex Palmer (Plymouth Argyle), Perry Ng (Crewe Alexandra), Ben Tozer (Cheltenham Town), Charlie Goode (Northampton Town), Randell Williams (Exeter City), Antoni Sarcevic (Plymouth Argyle), Danny Mayor (Plymouth Argyle), Nicky Adams (Northampton Town), Charlie Kirk (Crewe Alexandra), Eoin Doyle (Swindon Town), Jerry Yates (Swindon Town)

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Kevin De Bruyne Extends Manchester City Contract Until June 2025 – Sport Grill
  2. เควินเดอบรอยน์ขยายสัญญาแมนเชสเตอร์ซิตี้จนถึงเดือนมิถุนายน 2568 - Sport Grill -

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.