Logan Sargeant Retakes Championship Lead with Belgian Race Two Victory

Logan Sargeant took a dominant Belgian Race Two victory to return to the F3 summit. (Image credit: Bryn Lennon/Getty Images)

Logan Sargeant has reclaimed the F3 championship lead after taking a dominant victory in the second Belgian race of this weekend.

The American made a great start from third to find himself second only to be forced wide at Les Combes by Richard Verschoor, before getting past with DRS on lap three to secure a dominant victory despite surviving a late charge from Prema teammate, Frederik Vesti.

Liam Lawson made a poor start but recovered to finish third ahead of Aleksandr Smolyar, Theo Pourchaire and Oscar Piastri, of whom received a five second time penalty for gaining an advantage by going wide at Raidillon and immediately passing Verschoor on the Kemmel Straight into Les Combes on lap 10.

Verschoor, Lirim Zendeli, David Beckmann and Sebastian Fernandez round out the top ten finishers, whilst Olli Caldwell finished 11th despite running as high as third.

In terms of the title race, Sargeant now leads Piastri by seven points as Beckmann sits third but 40.5 points behind Sargeant and in need of a perfect weekend at Monza next weekend to stay in the title fight.

Speaking post-race on his win which returned him to the championship summit, Sargeant said; “Fortunately, we were able to get the win today, which was super important after the technical problems that we had yesterday.”

Richard Verschoor led from pole but eventually slipped to a seventh placed finish. (Image credit: Clive Mason/Getty Images)

Verschoor made a clean getaway whilst fellow front row starter, Liam Lawson got bogged down and slipped to fifth, allowing Sargeant and Caldwell through into the top three behind Verschoor.

Sargeant soon found himself within striking distance of the lead when he attempted an outside move on Verschoor into Les Combes, only to be forced wide over the kerbs but retained second.

Verschoor however soon succumbed to Sargeant’s charge on lap three when the American breezed past with DRS on the Kemmel Straight, whilst Jack Doohan retired with a puncture following contact with Jenzer’s Calan Williams on the second lap.

Vesti then demoted Verschoor to third in a replica of Sargeant’s move whilst Olli Caldwell lost third when he got clipped by Lawson to send him wide and down to fifth, just as Virtual Safety Car was deployed after Pierre-Louis Chovet found the barriers at Les Combes.

Upon the restart at end of lap five, Alex Peroni caught Beckmann and Fernandez napping into the Bus Stop Chicane as he passed the pair to take ninth, which didn’t last long as Beckmann used DRS to reclaim ninth just a few corners later on the Kemmel Straight.

Caldwell meanwhile continued to slide down the order and a 11th placed finish was confirmed when he tagged Peroni at Les Combes on lap 12, sending Peroni into a spin and down to 25th position although he recovered to 22nd at the flag.

Pourchaire found himself in third with six laps left but Lawson and Smolyar managed to demote the two-time young race winner to fifth within the space of five corners, between Kemmel Straight and Rivage, with Piastri then passing the Frenchman three laps later only for a five second time penalty to demote Piastri back behind Pourchaire at the flag.

Up front, Sargeant built a solid two second lead over Vesti who managed his tyres better than his Prema teammate in the closing stages, although Sargeant eventually managed to cling on for the win by just 0.801s and reclaimed the championship lead with just four races remaining this season.


Race Result

Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Logan Sargeant Prema 17 37m 52.233
2 Frederik Vesti Prema 17 + 0.801
3 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 17 + 8.736
4 Aleksandr Smolyar ART GP 17 + 9.480
5 Theo Pourchaire ART GP 17 + 13.401
6 Oscar Piastri Prema 17 + 16.157
7 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 17 + 17.158
8 Lirim Zendeli Trident 17 + 23.413
9 David Beckmann Trident 17 + 24.882
10 Sebastian Fernandez ART GP 17 + 25.545
11 Olli Caldwell Trident 17 + 27.665
12 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 17 + 31.429
13 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 17 + 32.455
14 David Schumacher Carlin 17 + 37.859
15 Clement Novalak Carlin 17 + 38.940
16 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 17 + 41.046
17 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 17 + 43.725
18 Roman Stanek Charouz 17 + 47.025
19 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP 17 + 50.888
20 Andreas Estner Campos 17 + 51.647
21 Alex Peroni Campos 17 + 51.892
22 Cameron Das Carlin 17 + 56.516
23 Alessio Deledda Campos 17 + 57.484
24 Frederico Malvestiti Jenzer 17 + 61.410
25 Calan Williams Jenzer 17 + 1m 16.355
26 Matteo Nannini Jenzer 17 + 1m 24.425
27 Igor Fraga Charouz 17 + 1 Lap
28 Michael Belov Charouz 11 Collision
29 Pierre Louis Chovet Hitech GP 3 Spin
30 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab 2 Puncture

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.