Oscar Piastri Dominates Spanish Race Two to cut Championship Deficit

Oscar Piastri dominated the second F3 race of Spanish Grand Prix weekend to take victory, which in turn reduced his championship deficit to Logan Sargeant. 

Piastri got a strong start from fifth to quickly work his way up to second where he got the switchback on Alex Peroni into Turn Three to sweep through into the lead, from which he went on to clinch victory despite overcoming two safety car restarts. 

Piastri consequently reduced a 12 point deficit  to Sargeant down to just a single point heading into the final triple header of Spa, Monza and Mugello. 

Speaking post-race on his second win of season, Piastri said; “I got a mega start and got the lead in the first few corners. That was really positive because that’s sort of where I’ve been playing a bit weak so far this year.” 

Peroni meanwhile lost second to pole-sitter, Matteo Nannini but managed to regain the position with an inside move into Turn One on lap 11, of which the top three were set in stone. 

Richard Verschoor had to settle for fourth ahead of Logan Sargeant and Theo Pourchaire, with Liam Lawson, Enzo Fittipaldi, David Beckmann and Jake Hughes rounding out the top ten finishers. 

Embed from Getty Images

Nannini suffered wheelspin at the start which forced him to cut across and force Verschoor towards the pit exit lane, thereby allowing Peroni to sweep round the outside of Turn One to take the lead. 

Peroni’s lead however proved short-lived as Piastri managed to get switchback out of Turn Two and sweep past the Australian driver to take the lead, shortly before the safety car was deployed after Max Fewtrell and Olli Caldwell got beached in the gravel at Turn Two. 

Fewtrell and Caldwell had swerved to avoid colliding with Leonardo Pulcini’s spinning Carlin which had been hit by Dennis Hauger, sending the British pair into the gravel to end their races prematurely. 

Once the safety car pitted at end of lap five, Piastri got a solid restart to lead Nannini and soon built a gap as the Italian fell into Peroni’s clutches and was passed at Turn One on lap 11 with an inside move from the Aussie. 

From that point onwards, the top ten order was set in stone to the flag despite Frederico Malvestiti causing another safety car on lap 15, having stuck his car in the gravel at Turn Five but his car was quickly removed and racing resumed on lap 17. 

Further down the order, Bent Viscaal recovered from last position to finish 20th and just ahead of Frederik Vesti of whom he had shared the last row on the grid with. 


Race Results

Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Oscar Piastri Prema 22 39m 52.928
2 Alex Peroni Campos 22 + 1.176
3 Matteo Nannini Jenzer 22 + 2.028
4 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 22 + 2.568
5 Logan Sargeant Prema 22 + 3.002
6 Theo Pourchaire ART GP 22 + 3.910
7 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 22 + 4.823
8 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 22 + 5.365
9 David Beckmann Trident 22 + 5.878
10 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 22 + 6.613
11 Clement Novalak Carlin 22 + 7.216
12 Aleksandr Smolyar ART GP 22 + 7.752
13 Sebastian Fernandez ART GP 22 + 11.107
14 Calan Williams Jenzer 22 + 12.368
15 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab 22 + 13.139
16 Lirim Zendeli Trident 22 + 13.630
17 Cameron Das Carlin 22 + 14.411
18 Igor Fraga Charouz 22 + 15.127
19 Roman Stanek Charouz 22 + 15.677
20 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 22 + 16.109
21 Frederik Vesti Prema 22 +18.950
22 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 22 + 20.839
23 Sophia Floersch Campos 22 + 23.092
24 Leonardo Pulcini Carlin 22 + 33.108
25 David Schumacher Charouz 22 + 1m 24.905
26 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP 22 + 3 Laps
27 Frederico Malvestiti Jenzer
28 Alessio Deledda Campos
29 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP 0 Collision
30 Olli Caldwell Trident 0 Collision

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.