F2 2020: Austrian GP – Friday

Guanyu Zhou takes pole for 2020 Austrian F2 Feature Race after a frantic qualifying session. (Image credit: Clive Mason/Getty Images)

Formula Two began its 2020 season in brilliant fashion as several rookies instantly impressed, although it was Uni Virtuosi’s Guanyu Zhou who secured pole for Saturday’s Austrian Feature Race.

Rookie, Yuki Tsunoda meanwhile topped practice whilst Felipe Drugovich and Christian Lundgaard were amongst other rookies who impressed, as we round up the key details of Friday’s F2 action. 



Louis Deletraz led the 2020 gang out on track in the opening practice session of this season, which saw everyone need a couple of warm up laps whilst Hitech’s Nikita Mazepin was wheeled back into the paddock with an issue.

Campos’ Jack Aitken set the pace with a 1m 18.290 before various drivers traded fastest laps over the following ten minutes, culminating in MP Motorsport rookie – Felipe Drugovich going quickest with a 1m 16.054.

Embed from Getty Images

Renault Junior, Guanyu Zhou then pulled out a stunning 1m 15.507 to go fastest, which was quickly surpassed by ART GP’s Marcus Armstrong with a 1m 15.405 until Tsunoda snatched the fastest time seven minutes later with a 1m 15.249.

Luca Ghiotto put F2 newcomers, Hitech Grand Prix in second place just 0.054s behind, with Armstrong, Zhou and Christian Lundgaard rounding out the top five.

Marino Sato meanwhile caused a five-minute red flag as teams begun their race simulations, beaching his Trident in the gravel after finding himself in a spin. 

Nobuharu Matsushita meanwhile had a near miss on entry to the penultimate corner after the restart, when he had to run wide to avoid the slower Guilherme Samaia in a Campos. 



Mazepin was straight out on track once the light went green as he looked to make up for a missed practice session, banking the first flier of a 1m 16.908 as several drivers opted for two warm up laps. 

Tsunoda and Zhou then traded fastest laps in a frantic few minutes which eventually saw the top five of Zhou, Jehan Daruvala, Deletraz, Tsunoda and Ticktum split by just 0.414s as drivers pitted to prepare for their final runs. 

Matsushita however stayed out to try and bank in a flier on a quiet track but could only manage improve time before returning to prepare for his second run.

Sean Gelael eventually led the field back out for their final runs with ten minutes remaining, as the majority opted for two warm up laps, as Felipe Drugovich leapt up to third after doing only one warm up lap. 

Embed from Getty Images

Sato however would cause his second red flag of the day after spinning on exit of Turn Four to beach himself in the gravel with five minutes remaining of the session, although his car was swiftly cleared to allow a quick restart.

Lundgaard opted to try Drugovich’s one warm-up lap approach which paid dividends when he climbed to second with a 1m 14.922, before eventually being displaced by Drugovich then Callum Ilott as Zhou went even quicker with a pole time of 1m 14.416.

Zhou therefore will start on pole from Drugovich, Ilott, Lundgaard, Mick Schumacher, Daruvala, Ghiotto, Robert Shwartzman, Ticktum and Deletraz.




Position Driver Team Time
1 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 1m 15.249
2 Luca Ghiotto Hitech 1m 15.303
3 Marcus Armstrong ART GP 1m 15.405
4 Guanyu Zhou Uni Virtuosi 1m 15.468
5 Christian Lundgaard ART GP 1m 15.509
6 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m 15.598
7 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m 15.702
8 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m 15.718
9 Sean Gelael DAMS 1m 15.928
10 Louis Deletraz Charouz 1m 15.940
11 Dan Ticktum DAMS 1m 16.015
12 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab 1m 16.028
13 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab 1m 16.174
14 Callum Ilott Uni Virtuosi 1m 16.268
15 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport 1m 16.334
16 Pedro Piquet Charouz 1m 16.379
17 Roy Nissany Trident 1m 16.514
18 Jack Aitken Campos 1m 16.544
19 Mick Schumacher Prema 1m 16.597
20 Guilherme Samaia Campos 1m 16.894
21 Marino Sato Trident 1m 16.905
22 Nikita Mazepin Hitech



Position Driver Team Time
1 Guanyu Zhou Uni Virtuosi 1m 14.416
2 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m 14.880
3 Callum Ilott Uni Virtuosi 1m 14.884
4 Christian Lundgaard ART GP 1m 14.922
5 Mick Schumacher Prema 1m 14.952
6 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m 15.028
7 Luca Ghiotto Hitech 1m 15.044
8 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m 15.051
9 Dan Ticktum DAMS 1m 15.128
10 Louis Deletraz Charouz 1m 15.151
11 Nikita Mazepin Hitech 1m 15.152
12 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 1m 15.157
13 Marcus Armstrong ART GP 1m 15.208
14 Jack Aitken Campos 1m 15.264
15 Pedro Piquet Charouz 1m 15.376
16 Roy Nissany Trident 1m 15.457
17 Sean Gelael DAMS 1m 15.604
18 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab 1m 15.688
19 Guilherme Samaia Campos 1m 15.703
20 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab 1m 15.746
21 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport 1m 15.897
22 Marino Sato Trident 1m 16.011

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.