Oscar Piastri Bows Out Of F2 With Victory At 2021 Abu Dhabi Feature Race

2021 F2 champion, Oscar Piastri bowed out of the series with victory at the season-closing Abu Dhabi Feature Race.

Piastri led from pole position as Zhou snatched second from Jack Doohan through Turn Nine with Doohan immediately spinning out, which triggered the only Safety Car of this race in a hectic opening lap as Robert Shwartzman improved to third.

Piastri and Zhou both made their pit stops on Lap 10 which relinquished the lead to Theo Pourchaire and Felipe Drugovich, who were racing on the alternate strategy.

Pourchaire and Drugovich eventually conceded the lead when they made their stops on Laps 28 and 29 respectively, which enabled Piastri to sprint away to a sixth F2 victory ahead of Zhou as Drugovich finished third ahead of Pourchaire and Shwartzman.

Dan Ticktum, Marcus Armstrong, Juri Vips, Ralph Boschung and Richard Verschoor rounded out the top ten.

With Piastri already confirmed as champion, Shwartzman completed a PREMA one-two championship finish albeit 60.5 points behind as he is declared Vice-Champion ahead of Zhou by nine points.

Embed from Getty Images

At lights out, Piastri led Doohan who found himself scrapping with Zhou but ran wide through Turn Nine and re-joined unfortunately out of control on dirty marbles, which sent the Aussie spinning out across the track into Turn 10 to trigger a Safety Car.

Further back, Christian Lundgaard’s final F2 race ahead of his switch to IndyCar ended in disappointment as he found himself spun by Vips at Turn Six, although the Dane did recover to finish 15th at the checkered flag.

The race resumed on Lap Five as Piastri led Zhou and Shwartzman as Lawson was the first driver on the super-soft tyres to pit at end of Lap Six, with several other drivers following suit across the following laps as Piastri and Zhou stopped together at end of Lap Nine.

Pourchaire and Drugovich who were the highest-placed medium tyre runners consequently were unleashed into the lead as they scrapped for position, with Pourchaire ultimately fending Drugovich off until Lap 28 when he made his stop.

Piastri meanwhile focused on managing his medium tyres as he slowly clawed his way up the order albeit with assistance of drivers on alternate strategy pitting, which proved enough to reclaim the lead on Lap 29 as Drugovich made his stop.

Drugovich meanwhile initially overcut Pourchaire in his pit stop and re-joined in fourth, but the Frenchman took advantage of his warmer super-softs to pass the Brazilian into Turn Six.

Pourchaire however was demoted to fifth two laps later on the exit of Turn Five but both drivers were able to clear Shwartzman on the penultimate lap, although Shwartzman did enough with fifth to secure the Vice-Champion honour.

Piastri with his sixth and final F2 victory will now join Alpine as their F1 Reserve Driver whilst Shwartzman’s 2022 plans remain uncertain, as Zhou graduates to F1 with Alfa Romeo and Dan Ticktum who finished fourth in the championship heads to Formula E.

Pourchaire rounded out the top five drivers in the Championship and is currently set to return to F2 next season as the highest-returning driver.

Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Oscar Piastri PREMA 33 58m 14.400
2 Guanyu Zhou UNI-Virtuosi 33 + 3.288
3 Felipe Drugovich UNI-Virtuosi 33 + 8.242
4 Theo Pourchaire ART GP 33 + 9.977
5 Robert Shwartzman PREMA 33 + 13.333
6 Dan Ticktum Carlin 33 + 19.166
7 Marcus Armstrong DAMS 33 + 19.775
8 Juri Vips Hitech GP 33 + 22.555
9 Ralph Boschung Campos 33 + 26.415
10 Richard Verschoor Charouz 33 + 27.242
11 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 33 + 30.007
12 Bent Viscaal Trident 33 + 32.619
13 Roy Nissany DAMS 33 + 37.305
14 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 33 + 37.836
15 Christian Lundgaard ART GP 33 + 40.446
16 Guilherme Samaia Charouz 33 + 41.040
17 Marino Sato Trident 33 + 42.341
18 Olli Caldwell Campos 33 + 43.846
19 Alessio Deledda HWA Racelab 33 + 1m 20.339
RET Liam Lawson Hitech GP 29 Mechanical
RET Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 21 Mechanical
RET Jack Doohan MP Motorsport 0 Collision

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.