Lionel Messi Wins Seventh Ballon d’Or Title

Lionel Messi has been voted as the world’s best footballer of 2021 as he secured his seventh Ballon d’Or honour.

Messi has enjoyed an emotional year as he helped Barcelona to the 2021 Copa del Rey title before departing the Catalonian club during the summer for PSG, after guiding Argentina to Copa America success in July on top of becoming their most capped player and South America’s highest scoring male player.

Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski finished second ahead of Chelsea’s Jorginho who had enjoyed a cup double for club and country, as he helped the Blues to Champions League success followed by the Euro 2020 title for Italy.

Italy and PSG goalkeeper – Gianluigi Donnarumma won the Yashin Trophy after he was voted the World’s best goalkeeper ahead of Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy and Atletico Madrid’s Jan Oblak.

Mendy’s fellow Premier League rivals – Ederson, Emiliano Martinez and Kasper Schmeichel finished fourth, sixth and seventh respectively.

Barcelona’s Pedri won the Kopa Trophy after emerging as the best young player of 2021 ahead of Jude Bellingham and Jamal Muisala who play for Borussia Dortmund and Bayern Munich respectively.

Chelsea meanwhile were awarded Club of the Year and Lewandowski took home the award for Striker of the Year.

Across in the Women’s Ballon d’Or, Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas was crowed as the women’s player of the year ahead of teammate – Jennifer Hermoso with Chelsea’s Sam Kerr finishing third ahead of Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema.

Full Winners List

Ballon d’Or

Winner – Lionel Messi (PSG)

Second Place – Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

Third Place – Jorginho (Chelsea)


Yashin Trophy

Winner – Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG)

Second Place – Edouard Mendy (Chelsea)

Third Place – Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid)


Kopa Trophy

Winner – Pedri (Barcelona)

Second Place – Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund)

Third Place – Jamal Muisala (Bayern Munich)


Club of the Year

Winner – Chelsea


Striker of the Year 

Winner – Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)


Ballon d’Or Feminin

Winner – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)

Second Place – Jennifer Hermoso (Barcelona)

Third Place – Sam Kerr (Chelsea)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.