Sarina Wiegman Recall Hannah Hampton, Keira Walsh and Alessio Russo To England Lionesses Squad

Sarina Wiegman has recalled Hannah Hampton, Keira Walsh and Alessio Russo to the England Lionesses squad for 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup Qualifiers against Northern Ireland and Latvia this month.

Hampton, Walsh and Russo’s recalls come after four players were dropped from September’s squad as England sit top of Group D heading into this month’s international fixtures.

Carly Telford has been dropped from Weigman’s goalkeeper selection as Aston Villa’s Hannah Hampton comes into the squad, alongside the retained Mary Earps and Sandy Maclver which means that the latest goalkeeping selection boasts just 11 caps between them.

In defence, Manchester City’s Steph Houghton and Esme Morgan both misses out with respective leg and ankle injuries, with neither player replaced.

City’s Keira Walsh though is recalled after missing September’s international fixtures through injury and will link up with the retained midfield quint of; Jill Scott, Georgia Stanway, Lucy Staniforth, Leah Williamson and Katie Zelem.

Up front, Manchester United’s Alessio Russo receives her first call-up since Wiegman took charge last month, with this opportunity representing her first England call-up since withdrawing from last October’s squad through injury.

Racing Louisville’s Ebony Salmon consequently drops out of the squad after failing to make an appearance in last month’s victories over North Macedonia and Luxembourg.

England will face Northern Ireland at Wembley Stadium on Saturday 23 October (5:15pm BST) on ITV, before visiting Latvia on Tuesday 26 October (6:30pm BST), with the latter match set to air on ITV4.

Here is England Lionesses’ 25-women squad in full.

Goalkeepers – Mary Earps (Manchester United), Sandy Maclver (Everton), Hannah Hampton (Aston Villa)

Defence – Millie Bright (Chelsea), Jess Carter (Chelsea), Niamh Charles (Chelsea), Rachel Daly (Houston Dash), Alex Greenwood (Manchester City), Demi Stokes (Manchester City), Lotte Wubben-Moy (Arsenal),

Midfield: Jill Scott (Manchester City), Georgia Stanway (Manchester City), Lucy Staniforth (Manchester United), Keira Walsh (Manchester City), Leah Williamson (Arsenal), Katie Zelem (Manchester United)

Forwards: Bethany England (Chelsea), Lauren Hemp (Manchester City), Fran Kirby (Chelsea), Beth Mead (Arsenal), Nikita Parris (Arsenal), Alessio Russo ((Manchester United), Ella Toone (Manchester United), Ellen White (Manchester City)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.