Will Keane Receive Maiden Call-Up For Republic Of Ireland Squad To Face Azerbaijan and Qatar

Stephen Kenny has handed Will Keane his maiden call-up to Republic of Ireland squad for October’s international fixtures against Azerbaijan and Qatar.

Keane’s call-up comes after a strong start to this season for the 28 year-old at Wigan with four goals and means that Portsmouth’s Ronan Curtis drops out of the squad, as Callum Robinson and Troy Parrott feature amongst those who retained their place in Stephen Kenny’s striker selection.

Bournemouth’s Mark Travers meanwhile returns in goal after missing September’s international fixtures through illness, with his replacement – Bohemians’ James Talbot consequently dropped from the latest squad but Gavin Bazunu and Caoimhin Kelleher retain their places.

Seamus Coleman and Dara O’Shea miss out in defence through respective hamstring and ankle injuries suffered whilst on international duty for Ireland in September’s triple-header, whilst Celtic’s Liam Scales has been snubbed as Enda Stevens and Andrew Omobamidele return from injury.

West Brom’s Jayson Molumby and Preston’s Alan Browne both miss out in midfield as Derby’s Jason Knight returns from injury, which saw the 20 year-old sit out the last round of international action in which Ireland drew with Azerbaijan and Serbia after defeat against Portugal.

Shamrock Rovers’ Daniel Mandroiu has also been snubbed in midfield.

Republic of Ireland will visit Azerbaijan in Baku on Saturday 9 October (5:00pm) before meeting Qatar in a friendly at home in Dublin.

Here is Stephen Kenny’s 26-man squad in full

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Portsmouth – on loan from Manchester City), Mark Travers (Bournemouth)

Defence: Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Shane Duffy (Brighton), John Egan (Sheffield United), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Ryan Manning (Swansea City), Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City), Nathan Collins (Burnley)

Midfield: Josh Cullen (Anderlecht), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Harry Arter (Charlton Athletic), Jason Knight (Derby County), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Jamie McGrath (St Mirren)

Forward: Callum Robinson (West Brom), Aaron Connolly (Brighton), James Collins (Cardiff City), Adam Idah (Norwich), Troy Parrott (Ipswich Town), Chiedozie Ogbene (Rotherham), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers), Will Keane (Wigan Athletic).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.