Scott McTominay Recalled For Scotland’s 2022 World Cup Qualifiers in October 2021

(Image credit: Justin Tallis - Pool/Getty Images)

Scott McTominay has been handed a recall as Steve Clarke named a 24-man squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Israel and Faroe Islands in October 2021.

Scott McTominay has been recalled after missing last month’s international fixtures as a result of a groin injury suffered on club duty for Manchester United in August.

Clarke has dropped St Johnstone’s Zander Clark as Jon McLaughlin receives a recall after missing last month’s international fixtures, although David Marshall again misses out as Craig Gordon and Liam Kelly remain in the squad.

In defence, Celtic’s Greg Taylor has dropped out after needing surgery on a shoulder injury as Motherwell’s Declan Gallagher is snubbed with the pair not replaced by any replacement call-ups in defence, although McTominay returns in midfield.

Clarke meanwhile has made no further changes to midfield other than McTominay’s inclusion as Stuart Armstrong is named in the squad, despite not playing for Southampton in recent weeks due to a calf injury.

Up front, James Forrest has been snubbed as Che Adams, Lyndon Dykes, Ryan Fraser and Kevin Nisbet retain their spots.

Scotland will host Israel at Hampden Park on Saturday 9 October (5:00pm BST) in a crunch clash in the race for Group F runner-up spot and a place in the World Cup Qualification Play-Offs, before visiting Faroe Islands in Torshavn on Tuesday 12 October (7:45pm BST).

Here is Scotland’s 24-man squad  to face Israel and Faroe Islands in full.

Goalkeeper: Craig Gordon (Hearts), Liam Kelly (Motherwell), Jon McLaughlin (Rangers)

Defence: Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Grant Hanley (Norwich), Jack Hendry (Oostende), Scott McKenna (Nottingham Forest), Stephen O’Donnell (Motherwell), Nathan Patterson (Rangers), Andrew Robertson (Liverpool), Kieran Tierney (Arsenal)

Midfield: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Lewis Ferguson (Aberdeen), Billy Gilmour (Chelsea), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), David Turnbull (Celtic), Ryan Christie (Bournemouth),

Forward: Che Adams (Southampton), Lyndon Dykes (QPR), Kevin Nisbet (Hibernian), Ryan Fraser (Newcastle United)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.