Ayumu Iwasa Snatches Maiden F3 Victory In 2021 Hungarian Race One After Lorenzo Colombo Hit With 5s Time Penalty

(Image credit: @FIAFormula3)

Hitech GP’s Ayumu Iwasa took a maiden F3 victory at 2021 Hungarian Race One after Campos’ Lorenzo Colombo was hit with a five second time penalty despite winning on the road.

Colombo initially retained second after a third corner clash with race leader, Jonny Edgar on lap one but was able to sweep past the outside of Turn One on lap eight as Edgar retired with a power issue.

The Safety Car was deployed on lap 16 after championship contender, Frederik Vesti retired at Turn One with power issues, yet Colombo mastered the restart on lap 19 to sprint away to his seemingly maiden F3 victory ahead of Ayumu Iwasa and Olli Caldwell.

Logan Sargeant, Clement Novalak, Dennis Hauger, Aleksandr Smolyar, David Schumacher, Jack Doohan and Matteo Nannini rounded out the top ten.

Colombo though post-race was hit with a five second time penalty for driving more than ten car lengths behind the Safety Car prior to the restart, which dropped him to seventh and gifted Iwasa victory.

In the driver standings, Hauger now holds a 40 point lead as Caldwell moved up to second following Vesti’s retirement, with the Dane dropping to fourth behind Jack Doohan

Embed from Getty Images

On the race start, Edgar made a clean getaway but a lock-up into Turn One forced the Carlin driver to squeeze Colombo to outside of Turn Two, with both drivers holding the top two positions without contact.

Colombo and Iwasa however stayed with Edgar as the top eight held position until lap eight when Colombo swept round the outside of Edgar at Turn One to claim the lead, just as the Brit lost power which soon afterwards forced him to retire.

Hauger meanwhile made a strong start on the opening lap to overtake Doohan and Vesti to put himself ninth, before passing Schumacher for seventh on lap 14 following Edgar’s retirement six laps earlier.

Up front, Colombo controlled the race in the lead as he kept Iwasa at just over a second behind until Vesti retired on lap 16 with a power issue at Turn One, which caused the Safety Car to be deployed until the end of lap 18.

Upon the restart, Colombo comfortably fended off Iwasa and Caldwell whilst Hauger got a quick restart to snatch sixth from Smolyar into Turn One, as the top 12 positions were thereafter settled as Arthur Leclerc missed out on reverse-pole after an outside move on Juan Manuel Correa around Turn 13.

At the back of the field, Ido Cohen and Jak Crawford tangled at Turn One on the penultimate lap with Cohen attempting an outside move, only for Crawford to clip his right rear and send the Carlin driver briefly air-bound upon impact as he retired on the spot and Crawford proceeded to finish 26th.

Colombo consequently cruised to his initial maiden F3 victory and Campos’ first win in this series in their 44th race entry since the competition was reintroduced in 2019, as well as their first victory since the death of team founder – Adrian Campos in late January this year.

Stewards post-race however denied the Italian and Campos their first win after Colombo was adjudged to have driven more than ten car lengths behind the Safety Car just prior to the restart.

Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 22 37m 10.923
2 Olli Caldwell PREMA 22 + 0.210
3 Logan Sargeant Charouz 22 + 0.937
4 Clement Novalak Trident 22 + 1.410
5 Dennis Hauger PREMA 22 + 1.791
6 Aleksandr Smolyar ART GP 22 + 3.129
7 Lorenzo Colombo Campos 22 + 3.175
8 David Schumacher Trident 22 + 4.635
9 Jack Doohan Trident 22 + 5.758
10 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 22 + 6.012
11 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 22 + 6.540
12 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz 22 + 7.734
13 Arthur Leclerc PREMA 22 + 7.801
14 Juan Manuel Correa ART GP 22 + 8.747
15 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 22 + 9.614
16 Jake Hughes Carlin 22 + 10.108
17 Calan Williams Jenzer 22 + 10.465
18 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 22 + 11.863
19 Amaury Cordeel Campos 22 + 11.948
20 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 22 + 12.440
21 Tijmen Van Der Helm MP Motorsport 22 + 12.699
22 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer 22 + 13.559
23 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 22 + 14.802
24 Reshad De Gerus Charouz 22 + 15.308
25 Filip Ugran Jenzer 22 + 16.211
26 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 22 + 16.622
27 Laszlo Toth Campos 22 + 17.827
RET Ido Cohen Carlin 21 Collision
RET Frederik Vesti ART GP 15 Power
RET Jonny Edgar Carlin 7 Power

5 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Matteo Nannini Cruises to Maiden Victory In 2021 F3 Hungarian Race Two – Sport Grill
  2. Matteo Nannini ล่องเรือสู่ชัยชนะครั้งแรกใน 2021 F3 Hungarian Race Two – Sport Grill - jsotp.org
  3. Ayumu Iwasa Snatches Maiden F3 Victory In 2021 Hungarian Race One After Lorenzo Colombo Hit With 5s Time Penalty - OrbMena News
  4. Ayumu Iwasa Snatches Maiden F3 Victory In 2021 Hungarian Race One After Lorenzo Colombo Hit With 5s Time Penalty – Sport Grill | News Alian
  5. PREMA and DAMS Complete 2022 F2 Driver Line-up – Sport Grill

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.