Manchester United Handed Tough 2020-21 UEFA Champions League Group Stage Draw

Manchester United have been handed a tough group featuring last season’s runners-up PSG as Liverpool, Manchester City and Chelsea also discovered their Champions League groups. 

Ole Gunnar-Solskjaer’s Red Devils have been drawn in Group H alongside last season’s losing finalists, PSG plus RB Leipzig, who had lost to the French club in the semi-finals after beating Tottenham en route to the last four.

United will also face Istanbul Basaksehir in their group after having defeated Leicester City in July to qualify for this competition via a third placed finish in last season’s Premier League.

Reigning Premier League champions, Liverpool have been handed Group D where they will face last season’s Quarter-Finalists, Atalanta alongside Midtjylland plus Ajax, of whom they lost 7-3 to on aggregate in December 1966 in their only previous meetings in Europe’s biggest football competition.

Frank Lampard’s Chelsea have been placed in Group E where they face Krasnodar and Rennes plus last season’s Europa League champions, Sevilla, who won the competition for a sixth time in August after defeating Inter Milan 3-2 in the Final to seal a spot in Pot One.

Manchester City have drawn Porto, Olympiacos and Marseille in Group C from which the Citizens will be favourites to progress from as group winners.

Elsewhere, Cristiano Ronaldo’s Juventus will face Lionel Messi’s Barcelona in a blockbuster Group G pairing alongside Dynamo Kiev and Hungary’s Ferencvaros, who had battled through five qualifying matches to reach this stage whilst knocking out Celtic en route.

Defending champions, Bayern Munich have draw Atletico Madrid, Red Bull Salzburg and Lokomotiv Moscow in what looks like a relatively easy Group A for the six-time winners.

Group Stages matches this season will be played in two blocks of triple headers across Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 20 October – 4 November then 24 November – 9 December, as a result of the fixture rearrangement due to Coronavirus pandemic pushing back the conclusion of last season’s tournament and the qualifying rounds for this season’s campaign.

Here are all eight groups for 2020-21 UEFA Champions League: Group Stage.

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Bayern Munich Real Madrid Porto Liverpool
Atletico Madrid Shakhtar Donetsk Manchester City Ajax
Red Bull Salzburg Inter Milan Olympiacos Atalanta
Lokomotiv Moscow Borussia Monchengladbach Marseille Midtjylland


Group E Group F Group G Group H
Sevilla Zenit St Petersburg Juventus PSG
Chelsea Borussia Dortmund Barcelona Manchester United
Krasnodar Lazio Dynamo Kiev RB Leipzig
Rennes Club Brugge Ferencvaros Istanbul Basaksehir

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.