Christian Lundgaard Dominates Tuscan Sprint Race as Mick Schumacher Extends Championship Lead

Christian Lundgaard dominated the 2020 Tuscan Sprint Race to claim victory plus fastest lap. (Image credit: Mark Thompson/Getty Images)

Christian Lundgaard dominated the 2020 Tuscan Sprint Race to boost his title dreams whilst Mick Schumacher extended his championship lead over Callum Ilott.

Lundgaard made a quick start from third to swiftly clear pole-sitter, Artem Markelov to take the lead and set the fastest lap of the race on lap two before he comfortably held his lead to the flag over Louis Deletraz, who clinched second with a sweeping outside move round San Donato on Markelov on lap six,

Juri Vips snatched his first F2 points and third-placed podium after passing Markelov four laps later, before nearly snatching second from Deletraz at the flag but missed out by 0.551 seconds.

Schumacher finished fourth after pipping Guanyu Zhou to the flag after the Chinese benefitted from a Virtual Safety Car, which was caused by the Hitech GP duo of Nikita Mazepin and Luca Ghiotto colliding at San Donato on lap 15 with the Italian retiring on the spot with damage.

Ilott recovered from 12th on the grid to finish sixth ahead of Jehan Daruvala and Marino Sato who round out the top eight finishers.

Speaking post-race on his win which saw him cut his championship deficit to just 16 points, Lundgaard described his victory as “redemption…”, saying; “P1 today, and redemption for yesterday when I was leading the whole race until the Safety Car ruined it.”

In terms of the championship, Schumacher extended his championship lead over Ilott to eight points whilst Lundgaard moves above Shwartzman into third as Mazepin and Tsunoda both failed to score points.

Embed from Getty Images

Markelov made a slow start from pole unlike Lundgaard who got a lightning start from third to put himself in the Russian’s slipstream instantly before diving up the inside to take the lead before even reaching San Donato.

Deletraz meanwhile made a strong start from sixth to work his way up to third ahead of Schumacher who was fifth behind Vips who had a poor getaway from second on the grid, with Lundgaard pulling a two second lead on the opening lap over Markelov.

Schumacher’s title rivals, Ilott and Shwartzman meanwhile found themselves 12th and 16th respectively by the time they hit San Donato on lap three, although Shwartzman would pass Zhou into Materassi on that very lap for 15th position.

Deletraz bided his time in the early stages until he made an outside move on Markelov round San Donato for second with Vips following through on the next lap, only to get a light tap on his right rear tyre  which forced him to concede the position back until lap 10 when he made an inside move into that corner stick.

Markelov’s tyres soon began to fade with Schumacher making a move into Bucine but the Russian ultimately benefitted from DRS to make the pass into San Donato at the start of the next lap, until a big moment at Casanova allowed Schumacher and Mazepin through at first and second Arrabbiata corners respectively with Ghiotto and Felipe Drugovich following through soon afterwards.

Further back, Ilott took ninth from Armstrong on lap 13 whilst Shwartzman and Zhou continued to tussle as they progressed through the field after starting in 22nd and 20th positions respectively.

Ghiotto meanwhile had reeled in Hitech GP teammate, Mazepin and used DRS to position himself on outside heading into San Donato when he attempted an outside move but the Russian locked up and slid across into Ghiotto to send him momentarily airborne and end his race. Mazepin was hit with a 10s time penalty for causing the collision which coupled with a late pit stop for damage saw the Russian finish in 18th position.

Stewards consequently deployed the Virtual Safety Car which allowed Tsunoda plus those at the back like Jack Aitken and Dan Ticktum a gamble in switching to the soft tyres, although Giuliano Alesi encountered a right rear wheel issue during his stop which forced him to retire.

The virtual safety car was withdrawn at the start of lap 17 with Daruvala breezing past Drugovich into San Donato as the Brazilian began to struggle on his hard tyres, running wide at Bucine to allow Ilott and Zhou through into sixth and seventh which soon became the other way round when Zhou got passed his UNI-Virtuosi teammate into San Donato on the following lap.

Shwartzman meanwhile cleared Marcus Armstrong on that very lap for ninth but ran wide at Materassi to ruin any chances of points, despite recovering to that position by the flag after repassing Armstrong on lap 21 but lost the position to Marino Sato who took the final point ahead of the Russian, Roy Nissany and Armstrong.

Tsunoda’s tyre gamble backfired when he was forced to pit for a new front wing after colliding with Drugovich on lap 19 before then making the pass on the MP Motorsport driver at the start of the following lap prior to receiving a black and orange flag for front wing damage.

Up front, Lundgaard clung on for victory from Deletraz by 14.321s ahead of Vips, Schumacher, Zhou and Ilott who both passed Daruvala on laps 20 and 22 respectively into San Donato, with the Indian finishing seventh ahead of Sato who claimed his first-ever F2 point in eighth place.



Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 Christian Lundgaard ART GP 23 37m 51.980
2 Louis Deletraz Charouz 23 + 14.321
3 Juri Vips DAMS 23 + 14.870
4 Mick Schumacher Prema 23 + 18.018
5 Guanyu Zhou UNI-Virtuosi 23 + 18.382
6 Callum Ilott UNI-Virtuosi 23 + 24.421
7 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 23 + 26.264
8 Marino Sato Trident 23 + 26.301
9 Robert Shwartzman Prema 23 + 31.425
10 Roy Nissany Trident 23 + 32.942
11 Marcus Armstrong ART GP 23 + 34.902
12 Pedro Piquet Charouz 23 + 35.040
13 Jack Aitken Campos 23 + 35.254
14 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport 23 + 36.983
15 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 23 + 39.072
16 Guilherme Samaia Campos 23 + 48.433
17 Dan Ticktum DAMS 23 + 48.483
18 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP 23 + 50.793
19 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 23 + 1m 09.649
20 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab 23 + 1m 21.885
21 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab 16 Wheel
22 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP 14 Collision

4 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Trident Confirm Marino Sato and Bent Viscaal For 2021 F2 Season – Sport Grill
  2. Trident ยืนยัน Marino Sato และ Bent Viscaal สำหรับฤดูกาล 2021 F2 - Sport Grill -
  3. Trident Confirm Marino Sato and Bent Viscaal For 2021 F2 Season – Sport Grill – ColorMag Entertainment News
  4. Ultimate Guide to 2021 F2 Season – Sport Grill

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.