Liverpool Kick Off Title Defence Against Leeds

Reigning Premier League champions, Liverpool will kick-start their title defence against Championship winners, Leeds United at Anfield. 

Leeds are making their top flight return for the first time since 2004 but face a tough opening weekend test against Liverpool, before a mouthwatering clash against Fulham who won promotion after beating Brentford in Championship Play-Offs ahead of a Yorkshire derby against Sheffield United.

Liverpool will meet Everton in the Merseyside derby on weekends of 17 October 2020 and 20 February 2021.

Fulham will commence their campaign with a London derby against Arsenal before making the trip to Elland Road, whilst they will face Chelsea at home on weekend of 16 January then away at Stamford Bridge on first weekend of May in the West London derby.

Championship runners-up, West Bromwich Albion will commence their season with a tasty Midlands derby clash against Leicester, before visiting Everton and hosting Chelsea in their following two opening games after a two-season top flight absence.

Last season’s Premier League runners-up, Manchester City won’t play on the opening weekend due to a 30 day break after their European involvement, meaning that their opening clash against Aston Villa has been postponed.

City will therefore open their season on the weekend commencing 19 September 2020 with a tough trip to Wolves at Molineux, where they lost from two goals up during Xmas last season.

Manchester United have also had their opening weekend clash against Burnley postponed after reaching the semi-finals of Europa League, meaning that they start their campaign a week later against Crystal Palace at Old Trafford of whom they lost to at home last season.

Both Manchester clubs will collide at Old Trafford on weekend of 12 December 2020 before clashing at the Etihad on weekend of 6 March 2021.

Boxing Day sees a blockbuster clash at the Emirates as Chelsea visit Arsenal in their first meeting since the Gunners beat Frank Lampard’s Blues to win last season’s FA Cup.

Chelsea will then host Man City at Stamford Bridge in the headline tie from the first round of fixtures in 2021 across weekend of 2 January.

Tottenham host Arsenal in the North London derby on weekend of 5 December 2020 before heading to the Emirates in the reverse fixture across the weekend of 13 March 2021.

The season will conclude on Sunday 23 May 2021 with Liverpool and Manchester City at home to Crystal Palace and Everton respectively, whilst Chelsea, Tottenham and Manchester United all face tough final day Midlands trips to Aston Villa, Leicester and Wolves.

Although BBC received four games as part of Project Restart to finish last season, they will revert back to highlights only, as the TV contracts revert back to pre-lockdown with Sky and BT sharing the bulk of games.

Amazon will have two rounds of fixtures plus two extra games as part of an one-off increase in televised matches from 200 to 220 games, with Sky picking up 12 additional picks with BT receiving six bonus matches.

Full opening round of 2020-21 Premier League to be played across weekend of 12-14 September.

Burnley v Manchester United (Postponed)

Crystal Palace v Southampton

Fulham v Arsenal

Liverpool v Leeds

Manchester City v Aston Villa (Postponed)

Tottenham Hotspur v Everton

West Brom v Leicester

West Ham v Newcastle

Brighton v Chelsea – Monday 14 September

Sheffield United vs Wolves – Monday 14 September

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.